Cost & Management Accounting Break-even Analysis Lecture-31 Mian Ahmad Farhan (ACA)

Slides:



Advertisements
Similar presentations
BREAK-EVEN ANALYSIS COMPANY "A" PLANS TO SALE UNITS FOR $100 VARIABLE COST: 1.Employee Wages $8 per Hour (4 hours per unit) 2.Supplies $1 per Unit 3.Other.
Advertisements

Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Chapter 6. © The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., 2000 Irwin/McGraw-Hill The Basics of Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis.
6 Slide 1 Cost Volume Profit Analysis Chapter 6 INTRODUCTION The Profit Function Breakeven Analysis Differential Cost Analysis.
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships 3/10/04 Chapter 6.
Cost-Profit-Volume Analysis Samir K Mahajan. BREAK -EVEN ANALYSIS Break –even Analysis refer to a system of determination of activity where total cost.
Analyzing Cost, Volume, and Pricing to Increase Profitability Chapter 3.
The Basics of Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis Contribution margin (CM) is the difference between sales revenue and variable expenses. Next Page Click.
Finance June 2012.
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Chapter 6 © The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., 2000 Irwin/McGraw-Hill The Basics of Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis.
Costs and Revenues The webinar will cover: Calculating contribution
Copyright © 2011 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. McGraw-Hill/Irwin Chapter 7 Cost-Volume- Profit Analysis.
Dr. Mohamed A. Hamada Lecturer of Accounting Information Systems 1-1 Chapter 5 COST-VOLUME-PROFIT ANALYSIS.
PowerPoint Authors: Susan Coomer Galbreath, Ph.D., CPA Charles W. Caldwell, D.B.A., CMA Jon A. Booker, Ph.D., CPA, CIA Cynthia J. Rooney, Ph.D., CPA McGraw-Hill/Irwin.
Management Accounting
Chapter 5. Assumptions of CVP Analysis  Selling price is constant.  Costs are linear.  In multi-product companies, the sales mix is constant.  In.
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Chapter 6. © The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., 2002 Irwin/McGraw-Hill 2 The Basics of Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis.
McGraw-Hill /Irwin Copyright © 2008 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. Chapter 6 Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships.
Chapter 3 Cost, Revenue, and Income Behavior
Marginal Costing X Ltd. Furnished you the following related to the year 1996 First HalfSecond Half Sales45,00050,000 Total Cost 40,00043,000 Assume that.
Cost Volume Profit Analysis (CVP)
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis: A Managerial Planning Tool
COST-VOLUME-PROFIT RELATIONSHIP
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis: A Managerial Planning Tool Management Accounting: The Cornerstone for Business Decisions Copyright ©2006 by South-Western,
ACTG 3020 Chapter 6 - Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships.
Chapter Six Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships. CVP ANALYSIS Cost Volume Profit analysis is one of the most powerful tools that helps management to make.
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Chapter 6 McGraw-Hill/Irwin Copyright © 2010 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Chapter 18. Identify how changes in volume affect costs.
Chapter 8: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Using Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis allows a manager to graphically analyze the relationship between Costs,
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis. CVP Scenario Cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis is the study of the effects of output volume on revenue (sales), expenses.
1 Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis. 2 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis 3 methods: (i) Basic equation method (ii) Contribution margin method (iii) Graphical.
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Chapter 6. © The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., 2003 McGraw-Hill/Irwin The Basics of Cost-Volume- Profit (CVP) Analysis.
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Chapter 6 McGraw-Hill/Irwin Copyright © 2010 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Lecture 3 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis. Contribution Margin The Basic Profit Equation Break-even Analysis Solving for targeted profits.
Chapter 20 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
© The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., 2002 McGraw-Hill/Irwin Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Lecture 16.
© Ahmad Zahiruddin Yahya 2011 Quick Check Baker Corporation applies manufacturing overhead on the basis of direct labor-hours. At the beginning of the.
BREAKEVEN ANALYSIS An important tool for management decision making.
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis. THE BREAK-EVEN POINT(BEP) The break-even point is the point in the volume of activity where the organization’s revenues and.
EXCERCISES ON BES. Compute the Break-even sales in pesos and units 1.A product line is sold at a unit selling price of P9.00. Variable cost is estimated.
Copyright © 2009 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. McGraw-Hill/Irwin Chapter 7 Cost-Volume- Profit Analysis.
Analysis of Cost- Volume Pricing to increase profitability Chapter 3.
@ 2012, Cengage Learning Cost Behavior and Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis LO 3a – Understanding Break-Even.
F2:Management Accounting. Designed to give you knowledge and application of: Section F: Short–term decision–making techniques F1. Cost –Volume-Profit.
Contribution Margins. Cost-volume-profit Analysis: Calculating Contribution Margin Financial statements are used by managers to help make good business.
Cost & Management Accounting Material Lecture-7 Mian Ahmad Farhan (ACA)
Marginal Costing & Break Even Analysis. Marginal cost The amount at any given volume of output by which the aggregate costs are changed if the volume.
Chapter 12 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis. Chapter 122 Chapter 12: Objectives Define break-even point (BEP) and cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis and recognize.
Lesson 15-2 Determining Breakeven
Break-even Analysis Lecture-30 Main Ahmad Farhan.
Managerial accounting
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis: A Managerial Planning Tool
Cost & Management Accounting
AMIS 310 Foundations of Accounting
COURSE LECTURER: DR. O. J. AKINYOMI
Business Accounting and Finance
Starter What’s the story? Title: Break-Even.
AMIS 310 Foundations of Accounting
Accounting and Financial Information
Lesson 15-2 Determining Breakeven
Cost & Management Accounting
Cost & Management Accounting
Lesson 15-2 Determining Breakeven
Cost Volume Profit Analysis
Management Accounting
Cost & Management Accounting
Cost & Management Accounting
Presentation transcript:

Cost & Management Accounting Break-even Analysis Lecture-31 Mian Ahmad Farhan (ACA)

Practice Question A company sold a fans at Rs 2,000 each. Variable cost Rs each and fixed cost Rs. 60,000. Calculate: a. Calculate break even sales in Rupees. b. Break even sales in units. c. Sales in units to earn a profit of Rs. 20,000.

Solution Contribution to sales ratio = Contribution margin Sales = 800 / 2,000 = 0.4 a) Break-even sales in Rupees = Fixed cost C/S Ratio = 60,000 / 0.4 = Rs. 1,50,000

Solution b) Break-even sales in units = Fixed cost Contribution margin per unit = 60,000 / 800 = 75 units

Solution c) Target profit Rs 20,000 Target contribution = Target profit + Fixed cost = Target contribution margin Contribution margin per unit = 80,000 / 800 = 1,000 units

Check Break-even Sales 75 x 2,000 1,50,000 Less Variable cost (1,50,000 x 60%) 90,000 Contribution margin 60,000 Less Fixed cost 60,000 Profit 0

Check Target Profit Sales 100 x 2,000 2,00,000 Less Variable cost (2,00,000 x 60%) 90,000 Contribution margin 80,000 Less Fixed cost 60,000 Profit 20,000

Variable Cost Ratio Variable cost Sales = 1,200 / 2,000 x 100 = 60% X 100

Margin of Safety (MOS) Budgeted sales – Break-even sales

Example Sales700 units x Rs 8 5,600 Variable cost700 units x Rs 8 4,200 Contribution margin1,400 Fixed cost 1,000 Profit 400

Example Sales500 units x Rs 8 4,000 Variable cost500 units x Rs 6 3,000 Contribution margin1,000 Fixed cost 1,000 Profit 0

Margin of Safety Budgeted sales – Break-even sales = 5,600 – 4,000 = 1,600

Margin of Safety Ratio a). Margin safety Budgeted sales = 1,600 / 5,600 x 100 = 28.57% b). Budgeted profit Budgeted contribution margin = 400 / 1,400 x 100 = 28.57% c). Profit to sales ratio Contribution to sales X 100

Margin of Safety Ratio Profit to sales ratio = 400 / 5,600 x 100 = 7.14% Contribution to sales ratio = 1,400 / 5,600 x 100 = 25% Profit to sales ratio Contribution to sales = 7.14 % / 25% = 28.56% or 28.57%

Example Budgeted sales 10,000 Less variable cost 6,000 Contribution margin 4,000 Less Fixed cost 2,500 Profit 1,500 Calculate Margin safety ratio?

Solution Budgeted profit Budgeted contribution margin =1,500 / 1,000 x 100 = 37.5% P/S Ratio C/S Ratio

Solution Profit / Sales x 100 = 1,500 / 10,000 x 100 = 15% Contribution margin / Sales x 100 = 4,000 / 10,000 x 100 = 40% Margin of safety ratio = 15% / 40% = 37.5%

Example Sales= Rs. 50,000 Margin of safety = 25% Calculate break even sales? MOS = 50,000 x 25% = 12,500 MOS = Budgeted sales - Break even sales Budgeted sales - MOS = Break even sales 50, ,500 = 37,500

Example Sales = Rs. 50,000 MOS ratio = 25% Budgeted profit = Rs. 2,500 a). Compute projected profit b). Prepare Budgeted sales sheet

Solution Budgeted sales50,000 Less Variable cost40,000 Contribution margin 10,000 Less Fixed cost 7,500 Profit 2,500

MOS ratio = Profit Contribution margin = 2500 Contribution margin = contribution margin = 2,500 Contribution margin = 2,500 / 0.25 Contribution margin = Rs. 10,000

Break even sales = Fixed cost C/S ratio Budgeted sales37,500 Less Variable cost30,000 Contribution margin 7,500 Less Fixed cost 7,500 Profit 0 = 7,500 / 0.20 = 37,500

Example Combine Break even XYZ Selling price (P.U) Variable cost (P.U)(1.50)(2)(4) Contribution margin (P.U) 126 Sales Volume80,00030,00015,000 Fixed cost Rs. 1,50,000

Solution XYZTotal Contribution margin (1 x 80,000) =80,000 (2 x 30,000) = 60,000 (6 x 15,000) = 90,000 2,30,000 Sales(2.5 x 80,000) = 2,00,000 (4 x 30,000) = 1,20,000 (10 x 15,000) = 1,50,000 4,70,000

Contribution to sales ratio = 2,30,000 / 4,70,000 = or XYZ Contribution margin ratio 80,000 / 2,00,000 x 100 = 40% 60,000 / 1,20,000 x 100 = 50% 90,000 / 1,50,000 x 100 = 60%

Break even sales = Target contribution margin C/S ratio = 1,50,000 / = 3,06,523