Chapter 9 Marketing communications using digital media channels

Slides:



Advertisements
Similar presentations
Digital Marketing Overview Tpugliese Adapted from Anton Koekemoer | April 2012.
Advertisements

Presented By: Jeanne Foulon, President October 7, 2010 Presented By: Jeanne Foulon, President October 7, 2010 Expanding Your Website’s Reach New Jersey.
Customer relationship management
Jennifer Ford.  Blog – A type of website or online journal that allows you to publish articles and updates that visitors.
Google Online Marketing Challenge (GOMC)
What does the course cover:  The course is a practical guide to use digital marketing to effectively reach out to internet audience while building your.
Angry Kitty Digital Strategy: Market Segments, Targeting & Promotions.
Artur Strzelecki.  10 teams  10 non-profit organizations  6 students per team  2 weeks of developing campaigns  ~50€
Affiliate Marketing. What is Affiliate Marketing Type of performance-based marketing that rewards affiliates for generating leads or sales. The most common.
Stage 1: Keyword Research. List of Tasks 1. Find 15 keywords that fulfill our criteria 2. Capture the screen of Market Samurai’s SEO Competition Matrix.
Search Engine Optimization: Understanding the Engines & Building Successful Sites Zohaib Ahmed Google Analytics Individual Qualified March 2012.
AdWords Instructor: Dawn Rauscher. Quality Score in Action 0a2PVhPQhttp:// 0a2PVhPQ.
© IDM Academy 2008 Getting the Most from Search - Integration, Ethics & Testing for Success Simon Heyes Head of Sales Operations
Chapter 9 Marketing communications using digital media channels
Search Engine Optimization ext 304 media-connection.com The process affecting the visibility of a website across various search engines to.
Online Advertising Greg Lackey. Advertising Life Cycle The Past Mass media Current Media fragmentation The Future Target market Audio/visual enhancements.
Topics in Technology and Marketing The Awesomeness That Is Google.
What is Marketing? What is Digital Marketing? Understanding the Process of Marketing How Digital Marketing Wins Over Traditional Marketing Understanding.
SEO for Google in Hello I'm Dave Taylor from Webmedia.
COMPANY PROFILE. ABOUT YELKOTECH We are a team of young, ambitious and deeply inspired professionals with endless creative energy and passion. Our innovative.
How to drive more and better quality traffic to your website.
Week 1 Introduction to Search Engine Optimization.
How to drive more and better quality traffic to your website.
Slide 9.1 Chaffey, Digital Business and E-commerce Management Powerpoints on the Web, 6 th edition © Marketing Insights Limited 2015 Chapter 9 Customer.
MadeToEngage.com PPC Digital DNA PPC Workshop 4th March 2016 Jonny Cameron.
Think Digital, Think Ally Digital Media 1of19 SEO Press Release Strategy 2015.
Best Strategies For Website Promotion. What is Website Promotion? Website promotion is the continuing process used by webmasters to promote and bring.
Slide 9.1 Chaffey, Digital Business and E-commerce Management Powerpoints on the Web, 6 th edition © Marketing Insights Limited 2015 Chapter 9 Customer.
Figure 9.2 A summary of an effective process of online relationship building.
Web Analytics Fundamentals Presented by Tejaswi, Chandrika, Sunil.
Slide 12.1 Chaffey, Digital Business and E-commerce Management Powerpoints on the Web, 6 th edition © Marketing Insights Limited 2015 Chapter 12 Digital.
Internet Marketing Agency – Website Design and SEO Company
Agenda 1 What is Digital Marketing? 2 Why People Are Going Online? 4 What Does Digital Marketing Consists of? 7 Digital Marketing Measurement 3 Benefits.
Presentation by Sunitha SEO Company in India- KG Tech
Digital Marketing Overview
Digital Marketing Overview
Introduction to Digital Marketing Game-Changing Techniques
Full Name I Company I Job Title I
Search Engine Optimization(S.E.O)
Digital Marketing Overview
بازاریابی دیجیتال در یک نگاه
Online Marketing Campaign
Customer relationship management
Internet Marketing Basics
Introduction to Digital Marketing
Technology and Marketing The Awesomeness That Is Google Part II
SEO Basics to Grow a Small Business
E-Marketing 5/E Judy Strauss and Raymond Frost
Digital Marketing Overview
What is Search Engine optimization
Remarkable Digital Work  Search Engine Optimisation  Search Engine Marketing  Social Media Optimisation  Social Media Marketing.
Digital Marketing Overview
19 Managing Personal Communications
PACE CAREER ACADEMY |PUNE |MUMBAI | NAGPUR. Modules Involved in Digital Marketing Internet Marketing Strategies Search Engine Marketing Social Media Marketing.
What is Digital Marketing? What is the use of Digital Marketing? Strategies of Digital Marketing Opportunities Search Engine Optimization.
Key points Content :- What is Digital Marketing? What is the use of Digital Marketing? Strategies of Digital Marketing Opportunities Search Engine Optimization.
Interactive media.
by Siang Tay Marketing and Development Unit, UniSA
Alternative Internet Marketing Techniques
The Importance of Integration
SEO Course Outlines.
Gaining Credibility in your Research Field
DIGITAL MARKETING AGENCY Digital Marketing.
Digital Marketing Offerings
FINAL LESSON.
Getting to the Top of.
Presented By:- Abhinav Shashtri. Index SR.NOTitleSlide No 1Introduction: Build Awareness: Buildup Brand Image: Content Improves Website.
Online Strategy By Peter Baskerville 3/08/2019.
Part 3 Digital marketing: implementation and practice Chapter 9
Digital Marketing. What is Digital Marketing?  Digital marketing is the marketing of products or services using digital technologies, mainly on the Internet.
Presentation transcript:

Chapter 9 Marketing communications using digital media channels

Learning objectives Distinguish between the different types of digital media channels Evaluate the advantages and disadvantages of each digital media channel for marketing communications Assess the suitability of different types of digital media for different purposes.

Questions for marketers Which digital communications media should we select for different types of market? What are the success factors for using digital media that will make our campaigns more effective?

Figure 9.1 Average percentage of traffic from different sources referred to a website Source: Smart Insights (2011a)

Figure 9.2 Percentage who consider different information sources as important when researching or purchasing a product or service Source: Nielsen (2013)

Figure 9. 4 Search engine results pages in Google (www. google. co Figure 9.4 Search engine results pages in Google (www.google.co.uk) illustrating the natural and paid listings Source: Reprinted by permission of Google, Inc. Google™ search engine is a trademark of Google, Inc.

Figure 9.5 Click-through rates depending on position in the natural search results Source: Optify (2011)

Which SEO ranking factors should I focus on? On page optimisation: <title> tag = 4.9/5 Keyword frequency and density = 3.7/5 Keyword in headings = <h1> = 3.1, <h2> = 2.8 Keyword in document name = 2.8 Meta name description = 2/5 Meta name keywords = 1/5 Off-page optimisation: More backlinks (higher PageRank)= 4/5 Link anchor text contains keyword = 4.4/5 Page assessed as a hub = 3.5/5 Page assessed as an authority = 3.5/5 Link velocity (rate at which changes) = 3.5/5 Social media signals (newer ranking signal). See http: //www.seomoz.org/article/search-ranking-factors

Which factors affect returns from paid search? Distribution of daily budget Amount bid (Max CPC) Clickthrough rate Creative quality including creative testing Campaign structure Match types especially negative matches Use of content network Time-of-day (day parting) Landing page quality Click fraud! * In Google AdWords, Live Search and Yahoo! Quality Score especially important.

Online PR What it? ‘The management of reputation – the planned and sustained effort to establish and maintain goodwill and mutual understanding between an organisation and its publics.’ The UK Institute of PR (IPR) ‘The managed process of communication between one group and another … (it) is the method of defining messages and communicating them to target audiences in order to influence a desired response.’ Public Relationships Consultants Association (PRCA)

The key areas of online PR

Figure 9.3 Use of search engines for finding information related to product purchase Source: Performics (2010)

Figure 9.6 Stages involved in producing a search engine listing for the natural listings

Figure 9.9 AdWords campaign structures (a) Clothing retailer; (b) Restaurant chain

Figure 9.10 Gatorade social media command centre video

Figure 9. 11 Smart Insights blog (www. smartinsights Figure 9.11 Smart Insights blog (www.smartinsights.com) showing content available from within a category of ‘social media marketing’

Figure 9.13 The affiliate marketing model (note that the tracking software and fee payment may be managed through an independent affiliate network manager)

Figure 9.14 Distribution of length of time against purchase Source: Prussakov (2011b)

Figure 9.15 Ad buying ecosystem

Figure 9.16 Behavioural ad targeting process

Figure 9.17 Combination of touchpoints giving rise to sales Source: ecircle (2011)

Figure 9.18 Sky spend by medium compared with market share of UK internet searches, 5 June–6 March Source: The Hitwise UK Media Impact Report, September 2006

Table 9.4 Summary of the strengths and weaknesses of different communications tools for promoting an online presence