Mass-media in marketing communications: analysis, strategy and planning
Objectives Mass Media Social Functions Evolution of Mass Media Strength and weaknesses of major mass-media in marketing communications. Russian media-market. Media researches: TV, radio, press. Communicative effectiveness of advertising and PR campaigns. Principles of media selection and media- planning.
Mass Media Means of communication that are technologically capable of reaching most people and economically affordable to most
MASS MEDIA SOCIAL FUNCTIONS
Entertainment
Transmit Values
Service the Economic System
Service the Political System
Set the Agenda
Inform and Interpret
Surveillance
Community Forum
Define our Relationship with Nature
A Space for Public Expression
Evolution of Mass Media
Media Fragmentation: 1940s Radio Newspaper Magazine Cinema Poster
Media Fragmentation: 1950s Radio Newspaper Magazine Cinema Poster TV Long Play
Media Fragmentation: 1960s Radio Newspaper Magazine Cinema Poster TV Long Play Tape Satellite
Media Fragmentation: 1980s Radio, Newspaper, Magazine, Cinema, Poster, TV, Long Play, Tape, Satellite CD, Walkman, Video Game, PC, Videocassette, Recorder, Mobile Phone, Laser Disc
Media Fragmentation: 1990s Radio, Newspaper, Magazine, Cinema, Poster, TV, Long Play, Tape, Satellite, CD, Walkman, Video Game, PC, Videocassette, Recorder, Mobile Phone, Laser Disc DVD, Internet, , Webcam, TiVo, Smartphone
Media Fragmentation: 2000s Radio, Newspaper, Magazine, Cinema, Poster, TV, Long Play, Tape, Satellite, CD, Walkman, Video Game, PC, Videocassette, Recorder, Mobile Phone, Laser Disc, DVD, Internet, , Webcam, TiVo, Smartphone Satellitte Radio, HDTV, Blue Ray, iTunes, Podcasting, Blog, RSS, Flickr, YouTube, Wikipedia, FaceBook…..
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MASS MEDIA & MARCOM PROGRAMES : PROS & CONS
TV
Television is a medium of entertainment which permits millions of people to listen to the same joke at the same time, and yet remain lonesome. T.S. Eliot
ADVANTAGES TV: ADVANTAGES High reach High frequency potential Low cost per contact High intrusion value (motion, color, sound) Attain rapid awareness Quality creative opportunity Ability to integrate messages with other media
DISADVANTAGES TV: DISADVANTAGES High production costs Clutter Low recall Lack of selectivity Zapping & zipping Relatively downscale audience profile
MARCOM INSTRUMENT TV: MARCOM INSTRUMENT ADVERTISING PRPRODUCT PLACEMENT SPONSORSHIP CORPORATE IMAGE
revo A Revolution 1950s: Introduction Television !
revo international TV channels Broadcasters, public and commerical Digital TV Internet TV Films, Soaps, Series.... Satelite TV Preview, Postview DVD A Revolution
You choose what you want to see, and when ! TV 2.0 A shift from TV to My TV and We TV !
Development Digital TV 2.0 From TV 1.0 to TV 2.0: viewers decide, what and when to watch development digital technology creating new platforms preview/mainview/postview
Development Digital TV 2.0 A new way of thinking: Think: multi-platform Think: crossmedia Think: different viewing moments Think: screens instead of carier Think: media agnostic
More viewtime, more platforms TV Digital TV IP TV Mobile TV Platfom PreviewPostviewViewer more ! Viewtime Video on demand Cable TV Internet New Media New digital TV channels Think: Screen ! TV repeats TV channels
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Target audience selectivity High frequency Able to transfer sound from TV Portable, personal medium Ad music can match stations format Flexibility Low production costs Short production time Creative opportunities with music and other sounds Ability to integrate messages with other media ADVANTAGES RADIO: ADVANTAGES
Clutter Relatively small audiences Listener may be otherwise occupied while listening Some station formats relatively uninvolving for listeners Low attention Target duplication with several stations use the same format Limited research data DISADVANTAGES RADIO: DISADVANTAGES
ADVERTISING PR PRODUCT PLACEMENT SPONSORSHIP CORPORATE IMAGE MARCOM INSTRUMENT RADIO: MARCOM INSTRUMENT
Rapid audience accumulation Short lead time to purchase space High credibility Geographic flexibility Can convey detailed copy Strong retail trade support Good for merchandising and promotion Low production costs Excellent local market penetration ADVANTAGES NEWSPAPERS: ADVANTAGES
Not intrusive Cluttered ad environment Reproduction quality limitations (color) Short life cycle (24 hours for daily newspapers) Limited target selectivity DISADVANTAGES NEWSPAPERS: DISADVANTAGES
ADVERTISING PR SALES PROMOTION SPONSORSHIP CORPORATE IMAGE MARCOM INSTRUMENT NEWSPAPERS : MARCOM INSTRUMENT
Efficient reach of selected audience Timeliness Ability to match advertising with compatible editorial content High quality graphics and images Prestige Rich light TV viewers Excellent for complex copy Direct response techniques and special features Multiple readers ADVANTAGES MAGAZINES: ADVANTAGES
High costs Not intrusive: reader controls ad expose Significant slippage from reader audience to ad-exposure audience Long lead times to purchase magazine space Long production time Limited geographic options DISADVANTAGES MAGAZINES: DISADVANTAGES
ADVERTISING PR SALES PROMOTION SPONSORSHIP CORPORATE IMAGE MARCOM INSTRUMENT MAGAZINES: MARCOM INSTRUMENT
High selectivity High information content Opportunities for repeat exposure ADVANTAGES DIRECT MAIL: ADVANTAGES
Reader controls exposure High cost per contact Junk mail Clutter DISADVANTAGES DIRECT MAIL: DISADVANTAGES
ADVERTISING PR SALES PROMOTION MARCOM INSTRUMENT DIRECT MAIL: MARCOM INSTRUMENT
High speed of news distribution Multi channels of info distribution High credibility ADVANTAGES PRESS INFORM AGENCIES : ADVANTAGES
Specialized agencies News formats DISADVANTAGES PRESS INFORM AGENCIES : DISADVANTAGES
PR SPONSORSHIP CORPORATE IMAGE MARCOM INSTRUMENT PRESS INFORM AGENCIES: MARCOM INSTRUMENT
Companys own web-site – full control on the content Creative possibilities Flexibility Interactivity (feedback opportunities) User selects product information Direct selling potential ADVANTAGES INTERNET: ADVANTAGES
Low intrusion value Only for PC owners Short life span Websnarl (crowded access) Surfing Clutter Spam problems © problems Technology limitations Few valid measurement techniques DISADVANTAGES INTERNET: DISADVANTAGES
ADVERTISING PR SALES PROMOTION DIRECT MARKETING SPONSORSHIP CORPORATE IMAGE MARCOM INSTRUMENT INTERNET: MARCOM INSTRUMENT
Geographic flexibility Broad reach 24-hour exposure Localized message capabilities Ability to create awareness Production capabilities ADVANTAGES OUTDOOR (OOH): ADVANTAGES
Short expose time Brief message Hard to make copy changes Little segmentation possibilities Waste coverage Cluttered travel routes Weather and vandalism issues Measurement problems Local restrictions DISADVANTAGES OUTDOOR (OOH): DISADVANTAGES
ADVERTISING SALES PROMOTION SPONSORSHIP CORPORATE IMAGE MARCOM INSTRUMENT OUTDOOR (OOH): MARCOM INSTRUMENT
OGILVY (GB) ONE WORLD WIDE CANCER RESEARCH "I SHOULDN'T BE HERE-BENCH"
PUBLICIS FRANKFURT RENAULT MODUS "TREE"
LOWE DUBAI AXE DEODORANT "SPY HOLE "
ADVANCE (DK) LEGO "CONSTRUCTION SITE"
SAATCHI & SAATCHI (PL) HEAD & SHOULDERS SHAMPOO "IT CAN'T FALL HERE"
TBWA\PARIS AMNESTY INTERNATIONAL "BARS" CAMPAIGN
ARAG Insurance Billboard Campaign BUTTER (Düsseldorf) Household Insured? Liability Insured? Legal Aid Insured? BUTTER
user generated media slides
STRUCTURE OF THE RUSSIAN MEDIA MARKET
I LEVEL Mass media owned by the State or controlled by politicized private capital Inform & Press agencies TVRadioPress ИТАР-ТАСС РИА«Новости» РБК ОРТ РТР НТВ Культура Радио России Радио «Маяк» «Российская газета» «Парламент ская газета»
II LEVEL Commercial press, TV & radio companies of national (federal) cover Inform & Press agencies TVRadioPress Интерфакс Прайм-ТАСС СТС ТНТ REN-TV ТВ-3 «Маяк-24» «Русское радио» «Эхо Москвы» Сетевые Радиостанции FM диапазона Коммерсантъ Эксперт Комсомольская правда АиФ Советский спорт
III LEVEL Regional mass media Inform & Press agencies TVRadioPress RosBalt IMA -Press Channel 100 Regional TV Sputnik Hermitage Baltica Delovoy Peterburg Na nevskom Sobaka St.Petes Times
IV LEVEL Global communication environment Internet
Out of system mass media RadioPress «Liberty» «Voice of America» BBC Russian service Foreign publishing corporations «Cosmopolitan» «ELLE» «Moscow Times» «St.Petersburg Times»
MEDIA RESEARCH & MEASUREMENTS
Advertiser buys not time in TV or Radio air not pages in Press Media but audience of Mass Media
TV Media Research
TV Audience Research Gallup TV INDEX Panel research Electronic method (Peoplemeters) Respondents age: Russian cities (100+) Data provided for Russia, European part and 25 cities Monitoring data
Data Collection: Sample Size TV watching registration Data Base Air Monitoring Clients Population
Surveys People meters PPM Future of Electronic Media Measurements
Press Media Research
What do we have and what do we measure? CIRCULATION AUDIENCE
What do we measure? Average Issue of Edition? YES! Definite Issue of Edition? NO! ?
National Readership Survey interviews per year Non stop interview flow during the year Face-to-Face interview in the household Respondents age: Russian cities (100+) Quarterly reports
What is Measured? Average Issue Readership (AIR) Half a Year Audience Audience Socio-Demographic Structure Publications Cross Audience Subscription\Purchase
World Readership Surveys 2001: 60 National Readership Surveys –48-Face-to-face –12-Telephone interviews The biggest sample size: India interviews per year The smallest sample size: Peru interviews per year The largest number of measured editions: Russia and China: 450+
World Readership Surveys UK (NRS): France (EPSOS): Germany (MA): USA (NCS): Russia (NRS): ( Moscow, St.Petersburg)
Readership Interview Duration Maximum: 65 min: Germany Average:15-20 min Minimum: 7 min: Canada Russia: 25 min (Moscow & St.Petersburg min)
Radio Media Research
RADIO Radio Index GallupMedia (TNS) Face-to-face interview interview per year Age: cities (100+) 18 national & 127 local radio stations Quarterly reports
What is Measured? Weekly radio stations audience (Weekly Reach) Average daily radio stations audience (Daily Reach) Audience of time breaks (15 min) Frequency of listening Place of listening Audience Socio-demographic Structure
KEY MEDIA TERMS & MEASUREMENNTS
STATISTICS for TV Reach: The percent of the target audience that will see or hear an ad at least one time. Frequency: The number of times the average target audience member that was reached sees or hears an ad. Rating Point: represent the percent of the total available target audience impressions that are delivered by a media vehicle. – GRP stands for Gross Rating Points, the sum of all the rating points for a specific time period. –TRP stands for Target Rating Points, the rating points delivered to a particular target audience for a specific time period.
Audience: The number of homes or people exposed to an advertising vehicle. CPM (Cost per Thousand): Used as a comparison tool to determine the efficiency of different media vehicles. Cost of a media vehicle divided by the targeted impressions expressed in thousands. – For example: a media vehicle that costs $10,000 and has an audience of 500,000 Women has a CPM of $20. CPP (Cost per Point): represent how much it would cost to deliver one target rating point, or 1% of target audience. Primarily used in television and radio buying as a comparison and planning tool to determine how much media can be afforded at a given budget level. –For example, a unit that costs $1,000 and delivers a 10 Women rating has a CPP of $100. Impression: A single potential exposure of a message to a member of your target audience. The number of pairs of eyes or ears that will be exposed to a media vehicle. Share: The percentage of households or target audience members using television or radio that are tuned to a particular program. STATISTICS
NEWSPAPER AND MAGAZINE TERMINOLOGY Circulation: The number of copies sold or distributed. Insertion: A single ad. Broadsheet: Term used to describe a full or standard size newspaper such as the New York Times. Typically, a broadsheet newspaper is 6 columns wide by inches high.
Tabloid: Term used to describe a smaller than standard size newspaper such as the Sun Times. –Typically, a tabloid newspaper that is 5 columns wide by 14 inches high (approximately half the size of a broadsheet newspaper). Closing Date: The final date to commit to the purchase of advertising space. Materials Closing: The final date by which a publication must receive the advertising materials to be printed. NEWSPAPER AND MAGAZINE TERMINOLOGY
RADIO TERMINOLOGY Dayparts: How the day is broken down for buying purposes. MORNING DRIVE5am – 10am DAY10am – 3pm AFTERNOON DRIVE3pm – 7pm EVENING7pm – 12pm OVERNIGHT12pm - 5am
OUTDOOR TERMINOLOGY Out-of-Home (OOH): Any form of visual communication outside a consumers place of residence Showing: The basic unit of measurement in purchasing OOH. A showing is the total number of GRPs delivered in a market on a daily basis. Daily Effective Circulation (DEC): The gross number of exposure opportunities, per unit, per day against a given target audience. Provides basis of all outdoor measurement.
TELEVISION TERMINOLOGY Dayparts: How the day is broken down for buying purposes. EARLY MORNING (EM)5am – 9am DAY9am – 4pm EARLY FRINGE (EF) EARLY NEWS (EN)4pm – 6pm PRIME ACCESS (PA)6pm – 7pm PRIME7pm – 10pm LATE NEWS (LN)10pm – 10:35pm LATE FRINGE (LF)10:35pm – 1am OVERNIGHT1am-5am
GENERAL TERMINOLOGY Flighting: The scheduling pattern of an advertising schedule. Gross Cost: The total cost of a media vehicle or media schedule which includes the discount typically offered by a media supplier. Net Cost: The cost of a media vehicle after all discounts are deducted.
Makegood: In broadcast, a commercial offered in lieu of an announcement which was (or will be) missed due to either station error, preemption by another advertiser, or movement of the program purchased from one time slot to another. In print, the free repeat of an ad to compensate for the publications error in the original insertion. GENERAL TERMINOLOGY
MEDIA PLANNING PROCESS
MISSION: To create innovative and cost-effective plans designed to fulfill media objectives through the development of strategies and tactics. –a multi-step process –begins with the marketing objective (what is the client company trying to accomplish in terms of sales, brand image and market share) –Media advertising is typically only one part of a company's marketing mix
MEDIA OBJECTIVES an extension of the marketing objective. If media and advertising are a part of the marketing strategy, what does the media plan need to accomplish to fulfill its role? Answers could include share-of-mind measurements, sales goals or brand recognition measures.
MEDIA STRATEGY explains the "how" of a media campaign. The questions answered at this stage will help media planners devise a strategy: –Who is the target audience? –Where is the target audience (global, U.S. market, etc.)? –When should the marketing message air (timing, seasonality, etc.)? –How many times should the message air? –How will we communicate the message (creative)? –How much does the marketer have to spend?
forms the base of a detailed discussion of specific tactics. at this stage that a media plan is developed answers form the media plan and the next step is to execute the plan by airing commercials and advertisements. MEDIA STRATEGY
DETERMINING THE MEDIA MIX MEDIA MIX is the proportion of television, radio, print and other forms of advertising used in a particular campaign.
The "best" mix a combination of the product or service, the marketing objectives, target audience and budget
Advertising Campaign Media Research
Step 1 Competitors Advertising Analysis Tasks: Seasonality Optimal ad campaign intensity Advertising spending analysis Competitors advertising tactics analysis
Step 1 Competitors Advertising Analysis Additional data for competitors analysis: Ad message format (ad duration, copy layouts) Target audience What do they advertise? (models, images etc)
Step 2 Media planning Tasks: Media Choice Rational Budget distribution Efficiency maximization
Step 3 Post Campaign Analysis Tasks: Efficiency Estimation Output Control Breakdowns monitoring Media plan & fact comparison
Basic Media Planning Indexes
TV Rating: Target Audience exposed\Total TV Audience Audience: share of TA (000) Reach:% of the audience at which the ad message is aimed to see the ad at least once Frequency: the average number of times TA are exposed to ad message Share: TV Channel Audience\Total TV Audience
TV Affinity: TA Rating\ Total Audience Rating CPP: cost per point CPT: cost per thousand Cost
Radio Daily Reach (Cover,%) Daily Reach (Cover, 000) Weekly Reach Affinity: Target Audience Cover\ Total Audience Cover % of Audience: share of TA in Total Audience CPT Cost
Press AIR Half a Year Audience Affinity: TA\Total Audience % of Audience CPT Cost
Basic Media Indexes TV Rating Audience Reach Frequency Share Affinity CPP CPT Cost Radio Daily Reach (Cover, %) Daily Reach (Cover, 000) Weekly Reach Affinity % of Audience CPT Cost Press AIR Half a year audience Affinity % of Audience CPT Cost
Basic Rules for Media Planning Indexes Analysis 1.Analysis and media planning are valid only for Target Audience 2.Qualitative & Quantitative Indexes are analyzed simultaneously 3.Analysis is valid only inside media segments 4.Period Standardization for research and Target Audience