Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 1.

Slides:



Advertisements
Similar presentations
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Managerial Accounting Prepared by Diane Tanner University of North Florida Chapter 7.
Advertisements

Copyright © 2007 Prentice-Hall. All rights reserved 1 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Chapter 7.
Copyright © 2006, The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc.McGraw-Hill/Irwin Chapter Six Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships.
Breakeven Analysis A graphical view of the relationship between profit and sales volume By John C. Kelly.
2009 Foster Business School Cost Accounting L.DuCharme 1 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Chapter 3.
Copyright © 2007 Prentice-Hall. All rights reserved 1 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Chapter 21.
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Chapter 6. © The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., 2000 Irwin/McGraw-Hill The Basics of Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis.
6 Slide 1 Cost Volume Profit Analysis Chapter 6 INTRODUCTION The Profit Function Breakeven Analysis Differential Cost Analysis.
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships 3/10/04 Chapter 6.
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Chapter 7. Cost Volume Profit Analysis n What Is the Break-Even Point? n What Is the Profit at Occupancy Percentages Above.
Analyzing Cost, Volume, and Pricing to Increase Profitability Chapter 3.
The Basics of Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis Contribution margin (CM) is the difference between sales revenue and variable expenses. Next Page Click.
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Chapter 6 © The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., 2000 Irwin/McGraw-Hill The Basics of Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis.
© Business Studies Online “A firm Breaks Even if it doesn’t make a profit or a loss” In other words profit = 0 For this to happen the money coming into.
©2014 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publically accessible website, in whole or in part.
Copyright © 2011 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. McGraw-Hill/Irwin Chapter 7 Cost-Volume- Profit Analysis.
Dr. Mohamed A. Hamada Lecturer of Accounting Information Systems 1-1 Chapter 5 COST-VOLUME-PROFIT ANALYSIS.
PowerPoint Authors: Susan Coomer Galbreath, Ph.D., CPA Charles W. Caldwell, D.B.A., CMA Jon A. Booker, Ph.D., CPA, CIA Cynthia J. Rooney, Ph.D., CPA McGraw-Hill/Irwin.
Marginal Costing 1. Two Approaches to Compute Profits Conventional income statement Contribution margin income statement 2.
Cost Behavior Cost Volume Profit Analysis Chapter M3.
Chapter 5. Assumptions of CVP Analysis  Selling price is constant.  Costs are linear.  In multi-product companies, the sales mix is constant.  In.
Copyright © The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc 2011 COST-VOLUME-PROFIT RELATIONSHIPS Chapter 4.
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Chapter 6. © The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., 2002 Irwin/McGraw-Hill 2 The Basics of Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis.
McGraw-Hill /Irwin Copyright © 2008 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. Chapter 6 Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships.
Chapter 3 Cost, Revenue, and Income Behavior
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis CHAPTER 7 Copyright © 2015 McGraw-Hill Education. All rights reserved. No reproduction or distribution without the prior written.
Factors that Makeup an Income Statement Analyzing Revenues, Costs, & Expenses.
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis: A Managerial Planning Tool
COST-VOLUME-PROFIT RELATIONSHIP
Module 7: Cost Behavior & Cost- Volume- Profit Analysis ACG 2071 Created by: M. Mari Fall
The Mystery of Calculating The Breakeven Point. What in the world is it? w It is the point at which a company does not make any money. w It is the calculation.
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis: A Managerial Planning Tool Management Accounting: The Cornerstone for Business Decisions Copyright ©2006 by South-Western,
HFT 3431 Chapter 7 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis. Cost Volume Profit Analysis n What Is the Break-Even Point? n What Is the Profit at Occupancy Percentages.
ACTG 3020 Chapter 6 - Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships.
Chapter Six Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships. CVP ANALYSIS Cost Volume Profit analysis is one of the most powerful tools that helps management to make.
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Chapter 6 McGraw-Hill/Irwin Copyright © 2010 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Chapter 18. Identify how changes in volume affect costs.
Review:Variable Costing Break-Even Margin of Safety.
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Chapter 6. © The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., 2003 McGraw-Hill/Irwin The Basics of Cost-Volume- Profit (CVP) Analysis.
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Chapter 6 McGraw-Hill/Irwin Copyright © 2010 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Copyright © 2006, The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc.McGraw-Hill/Irwin Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships.
Topic Four by Dr. Ong Tze San Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships.
Lecture 3 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis. Contribution Margin The Basic Profit Equation Break-even Analysis Solving for targeted profits.
1.
Multiple Product CVP Analysis The easy way. What is multiple product CVP Analysis? Sell multiple products Ratio of products sold is assumed constant Determine.
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis. THE BREAK-EVEN POINT(BEP) The break-even point is the point in the volume of activity where the organization’s revenues and.
Review:Variable Costing Break-Even Margin of Safety.
Copyright © 2009 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. McGraw-Hill/Irwin Chapter 7 Cost-Volume- Profit Analysis.
Analysis of Cost- Volume Pricing to increase profitability Chapter 3.
@ 2012, Cengage Learning Cost Behavior and Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis LO 3a – Understanding Break-Even.
1 Break-Even Analysis Prof. Dr. Dan Dumitru Popescu.
Contribution Margins. Cost-volume-profit Analysis: Calculating Contribution Margin Financial statements are used by managers to help make good business.
BREAK-EVEN (BE) Unit 2 Business Development Finance GCSE Business Studies.
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
Managerial Accounting
Lesson 15-2 Determining Breakeven
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis: A Managerial Planning Tool
University of 6th of October, Egypt
Copyright © 2005 McGraw-Hill Ryerson Limited, a Subsidiary of The McGraw-Hill Companies. All rights reserved.
University of 6th of October, Egypt
AMIS 310 Foundations of Accounting
COURSE LECTURER: DR. O. J. AKINYOMI
AMIS 310 Foundations of Accounting
Lesson 15-2 Determining Breakeven
Break-Even Chart A Business supplies the following figures about its activities: Fixed Costs: = €300,000 Variable Cost: = €20 per unit Forecast output.
Lesson 15-2 Determining Breakeven
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships
Presentation transcript:

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 1

2 Break-Even Analysis

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 3 Objectives Determine the Break-Even Point in dollars in units Determine Target Net Income Prepare a Break-Even Chart Determine the Margin of Safety in dollars as a ratio (percentage) Determine the Contribution Margin Ratio

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 4 ??? Question ??? You paid $5,000 for a car, drove it 6 months and sold it to a friend for $5,000. How did you do? Gained how much?

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 5 Break-Even Point the level of sales at which total revenue is (exactly) equal to total costs and expenses

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 6 Break-Even Formula Sales = Fixed Costs + Variable Costs The Unknown $$ Dollars $$ % of Sales the level of sales at which total revenue is (exactly) equal to total costs and expenses

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 7 Break-Even Formula

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 8 Break-Even Formula

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 9 Break-Even Formula

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 10 Break-Even Formula R E Net Income

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 11 Break-Even Formula R E Net Loss

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 12 Break-Even Formula R E Expenses Revenue

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 13 Break-Even Formula R E Expenses Revenue

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 14 Break-Even Formula R E Expenses Revenue

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 15 Break-Even Formula R E Expenses Revenue

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 16 Break-Even Formula R E Expenses Revenue

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 17 Break-Even Formula R E Expenses Revenue

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 18 Break-Even Formula R E Expenses Revenue

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 19 Break-Even Formula R E Expenses Revenue

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 20 Break-Even Formula R E Expenses Revenue

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 21 Break-Even Formula R E BREAK EVEN

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 22 Break-Even Formula R E BREAK EVEN

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 23 Break-Even Formula R E BREAK EVEN

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 24 Break-Even Formula R E BREAK EVEN

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 25 Break-Even Formula R E BREAK EVEN

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 26 Break-Even Formula R E BREAK EVEN

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 27 Break-Even Formula Sales = Fixed Costs + Variable Costs (BE point in TOTAL DOLLARS)

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 28 Actual sales for Company A are $200,000 ($100 each), fixed costs (and expenses) are $60,000 and variable costs (and expenses) are 60% of sales. Compute the break-even point in dollars. Break-Even Formula Sales = Fixed Costs + Variable Costs Trap #1: Don’t fall for that trick! The Unknown $60, S S =

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 29 Break-Even Formula Sales = Fixed Costs + Variable Costs S = $60, S S –.60 S = $60,000 Actual sales for Company A are $200,000 ($100 each), fixed costs (and expenses) are $60,000 and variable costs (and expenses) are 60% of sales. Compute the break-even point in dollars.

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 30 Break-Even Formula Sales = Fixed Costs + Variable Costs S = $60, S S –.60 S = $60, S = $60,000 Actual sales for Company A are $200,000 ($100 each), fixed costs (and expenses) are $60,000 and variable costs (and expenses) are 60% of sales. Compute the break-even point in dollars.

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 31 Break-Even Formula Sales = Fixed Costs + Variable Costs S = $60, S S –.60 S = $60, S = $60,000 S = $150,000 Break-Even Point! Actual sales for Company A are $200,000 ($100 each), fixed costs (and expenses) are $60,000 and variable costs (and expenses) are 60% of sales. Compute the break-even point in dollars.

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 32 Break-Even PROOF Sales (at BE)$150,000 Less: VC (60%) 90,000 Contribution Margin 60,000 Less: Fixed Costs 60,000 Net Income-0- Actual sales for Company A are $200,000 ($100 each), fixed costs (and expenses) are $60,000 and variable costs (and expenses) are 60% of sales. Compute the break-even point in dollars. Income Statement

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 33 Break-Even in UNITS Actual sales for Company A are $200,000 ($100 each), fixed costs (and expenses) are $60,000 and variable costs (and expenses) are 60% of sales. Compute the break-even point in units. BE $ $ unit selling price $150,000 $ $100 1,500 units to break-even

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 34 Do you want to break even?

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 35 NO!

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 36 Target Net Income What must sales be to increase net income by $20,000? What is net income presently???

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 37 Income Statement Sales$200,000 VC (60%)$120,000 FC 60, ,000 Net Income$ 20,000

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 38 Target Net Income What must sales be to increase net income by $20, to $40,000? Sales$200,000. NI $ 20,000 Sales$200,000. NI $ 20,000 Increase by $20,000

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 39 Target Net Income What must sales be to increase net income by $20, to $40,000? Sales$200,000. NI $ 20,000 Sales$200,000. $220,000 NI $ 40,000

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 40 NO!

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 41 Target Net Income S = FC + VC + TNI S = $60, S + $40,000 S –.60S = $60,000 + $40,000.40S = $100,000 S = $250,000 What must sales be to increase net income by $20, to $40,000?

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 42 Income Statement Sales$250,000 VC (60%)$150,000 FC 60, ,000 Net Income$ 40,000

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 43 Break-Even Chart

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 44 Break-Even Chart Units Sold Dollars 100% Total Sales

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 45 Break-Even Chart Units Sold Dollars FC (FC+VC) TC? Break-Even Point Total Cost

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 46 Break-Even Chart Units Sold Dollars Income Loss

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 47 Margin of Safety W, K, & K: “…is the difference between actual … sales and sales at the break-even point.” p. 959

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 48 Break-Even Chart Units Sold Actual S S at BE Margin of Safety

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 49 How “Safe” Are You ??? Units Sold Actual S S at BE

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 50 Margin of Safety W, K, & K: “…is the difference between actual … sales and sales at the break-even point.” p RG & CW: “…is the excess of actual sales over sales at the break-even point.”

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 51 Break-Even Chart Units Sold Actual S S at BE Margin of Safety

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 52 Margin of Safety RG & CW: “…is the excess of actual sales over sales at the break-even point.” in dollars as a percentage

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 53 Margin of Safety RG & CW: “…is the excess of actual sales over sales at the break-even point.” MS $ =S A –S BE In dollars: As ratio: (S A – S BE ) S A MS % =

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 54 Previous Example Actual sales for Company A are $200,000 ($100 each), fixed costs (and expenses) are $60,000 and variable costs (and expenses) are 60% of sales. Current Net Income is??? Break-even point is??? Compute the margin of safety in dollars and as a ratio.

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 55 Previous Example Actual sales for Company A are $200,000 ($100 each), fixed costs (and expenses) are $60,000 and variable costs (and expenses) are 60% of sales. Current Net Income is$ 20,000 Break-even point is$150,000 Compute the margin of safety in dollars and as a ratio.

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 56 Previous Example Actual sales for Company A are $200,000 ($100 each), fixed costs (and expenses) are $60,000 and variable costs (and expenses) are 60% of sales. Current net income is $20,000, and the break-even point is $150,000. Compute the margin of safety in dollars and as a ratio. MS $ =S A –S BE In dollars:

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 57 Previous Example Actual sales for Company A are $200,000 ($100 each), fixed costs (and expenses) are $60,000 and variable costs (and expenses) are 60% of sales. Current net income is $20,000, and the break-even point is $150,000. Compute the margin of safety in dollars and as a ratio. MS $ = $200,000 –$150,000In dollars: As ratio: (S A – S BE ) S A MS % =

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 58 Previous Example Actual sales for Company A are $200,000 ($100 each), fixed costs (and expenses) are $60,000 and variable costs (and expenses) are 60% of sales. Current net income is $20,000, and the break-even point is $150,000. Compute the margin of safety in dollars and as a ratio. MS $ = $200,000 –$150,000In dollars: As ratio: MS % = $50,000 $200,000 = 25%

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 59 Remember? Salesxx Less: COGS x Gross Profit x Then … GP / S = GP percentage 100% 40% 60% Salesxx Less: VC & VE x Contribution Margin x Then … CM / S = CM Ratio 100% 70% 30%

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 60 Contribution Margin Ratio Salesxx Less: VC & VE x Contribution Margin x 100% 70% 30% Contribution Margin Sales = CMR also complement of variable costs & exp

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 61 Actual sales for Company A are $200,000 ($100 each), fixed costs (and expenses) are $60,000 and variable costs (and expenses) are 60% of sales. Previous Example What is the contribution margin ratio? 40%

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 62 Shortcuts Break-Even in Dollars S$=S$= FC $ CM Ratio

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 63 Break-Even Formula Sales = Fixed Costs + Variable Costs S = $60, S S –.60 S = $60, S = $60,000 Actual sales for Company A are $200,000 ($100 each), fixed costs (and expenses) are $60,000 and variable costs (and expenses) are 60% of sales. Compute the break-even point in dollars.

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 64 Shortcuts Break-Even in UNITS SU=SU= FC $ Unit CM

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 65 Previous Example Actual sales for Company A are $200,000 ($100 each), fixed costs (and expenses) are $60,000 and variable costs (and expenses) are 60% of sales. Compute the break-even point in units. SU=SU= FC $ Unit CM SU=SU= $60,000 $40 SU=SU=1,500 units

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 66 Break-Even in UNITS Actual sales for Company A are $200,000 ($100 each), fixed costs (and expenses) are $60,000 and variable costs (and expenses) are 60% of sales. Compute the break-even point in units. BE $ $ unit selling price $150,000 $ $100 1,500 units to break-even

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 67 Objectives Determine the Break-Even Point in dollars in units Determine Target Net Income Prepare a Break-Even Chart Determine the Margin of Safety in dollars as a ratio (percentage) Determine the Contribution Margin Ratio

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 68

Copyright © 2000 by M. Ray Gregg. All rights reserved. 69 Keep your life in balance this week!