Broadcast Advertising. Advertising Defined Non-personal CommunicationNon-personal Communication Usually paid forUsually paid for By an identified sponsorBy.

Slides:



Advertisements
Similar presentations
Marketing Part IV BCS-BE-36: The student demonstrates understanding of the concept of marketing and its importance to business ownership.
Advertisements

Audience Measurement Ad costs are traditionally determined by audience sizes Ad time/space is priced based on number of viewers/readers When buying ad.
Ch. 4. Basic Measurements and Calculations Highlights: Method of Measurement Name of a company or organization that presents the measurement data.
chapter 12 McGraw-Hill/Irwin Copyright © 2009 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. Electronic Media: Television and Radio.
Advertising Fashion. Advertising the Product o Fashion Advertising: the paid communication between product maker or the seller and the audience or the.
BROADCAST ADVERTISING. The Players AdvertisersAdvertisers AgenciesAgencies MediaMedia RegulatorsRegulators Sales RepsSales Reps Support – research, buyers,
Copyright © 2012 Pearson Canada Inc. Part 4 Communicating the Message 7-1.
Chapter 15 Media Planning: Print, Television, and Radio.
Media Planning and Strategy © 2003 McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., McGraw-Hill/Irwin.
Media Planning and Strategy 10 McGraw-Hill/Irwin Copyright © 2009 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Copyright © 2015 McGraw-Hill Education. All rights reserved. No reproduction or distribution without the prior written consent of McGraw-Hill Education.
McGraw-Hill/Irwin Copyright © 2004 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. Chapter 17 Advertising and Public Relations.
Broadcast Advertising. Advertising Defined Non-personal CommunicationNon-personal Communication Usually paid forUsually paid for By an identified sponsorBy.
© 2014 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.
Chapter 14 Media Planning, Objectives, and Strategy for Advertising and Promoting the Brand.
Manage media planning and placement to enhance return on marketing investment 3.08.
Managing Mass Communications
Introduction to Advertising
ADVERTISING MEDIA. Learning goals:  Understand the purpose of advertising  Understand how different types of media are used  Understand how media costs.
9.02 International Advertising
Is any paid form of non-personal promotion of ideas, goods, and services by an identified sponsor. Its purpose is to present a message that encourages.
Marketing Essentials n Chapter 19 Advertising Section 19.2 Media Rates.
Chapter 19 Advertising1 UNIT 6.2 Media Rates Marketing Essentials Advertising.
Chapter 19 advertising Section 19.1 Advertising Media Section 19.2
Advertising.
Essentials of Health Care Marketing 2nd Ed. Eric Berkowitz
Media Planning and Strategy
7-1 Copyright © 2009 Pearson Education Canada CHAPTER 7 Media Planning Essentials.
Media Planning. Media planning is the process of determining how to use time and space to achieve marketing objectives.
©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.
Media Strategy, Tactics, and Budget Decisions. Media Terminology Publications such as newspapers, magazines, direct mail, outdoor, etc. The specific carrier.
3.08 Media Planning and Placement. Terms Reach: number of people exposed at least once to an advertisement Reach: number of people exposed at least once.
Media Rates and Measurements
D. Marketing a Small Business Identify promotional media activities used by small businesses Identify the function of promotion in small business.
Marketing a Small Business Promotional Media Used by Small Businesses.
 Get a slogans Activity  Read the slogans  Match the appropriate slogan with the company it promotes.
Click here to advance to the next slide.. Chapter 14 Advertising Section 14.2 Media Measurement and Rates.
Media Planning and Strategy. Satellite radio stations 2 Satellite radio stations 2 The Traditional U.S. Media Landscape Broadcast networks (TV and cable)
Ch. 10 Media Planning and Strategy
Marketing Hospitality, 3rd ed., Hsu/Powers Chapter 12 Marketing Communication: Advertising.
Chapter 10 Media Planning and Strategy. McGraw-Hill/Irwin 10-2 Copyright © 2001 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. Media Terminology.
MRK317 Integrated Marketing Communications Chapter 8 Media Decisions.
Manage media planning and placement to enhance return on marketing investment 3.08.
1 Chapter 5 Advertising: Media Planning. 2 Media Planning “A plan of action to communicate a message to a target market a the right time, and right frequency.”
Media strategy ReachReach –Unduplicated exposures – gross impressions –Number of different people exposed to the message FrequencyFrequency –Average number.
Canadian Advertising in Action, 6th ed. Keith J. Tuckwell ©2003 Pearson Education Canada Inc. 8-1 Role of Media Research Media planners rely on secondary.
3.08 Media Planning and Placement. Terms Reach: number of people exposed at least once to an advertisement Reach: number of people exposed at least once.
Chapter 5 Advertising Planning: Traditional Media
Advertising  Origins?  Print advertising in 18 th Century America  Ben Franklin & “white space”  Classified versus display advertising.
19_2 Media Measurement and Rates. Media Measurements & Rates Businesses need to reach as many targeted customers as possible. It is important to calculate.
MEDIA COSTS. Newspaper Rates Classified Ads –Grouped into categories –Paid by word or line Display Ads –More creative –Generally larger –Paid by “column.
Think and Answer Now If you were to introduce a new product for your company, which form of advertising would you choose? Explain why. Read main idea on.
Electronic Media Basics. Which Media: Print, Television or Radio? Print, Television or Radio? 1. Great ads will fail if the media chosen do not reach.
Media Planning and Strategy. Satellite radio stations 2 Satellite radio stations 2 The Traditional Media Landscape Broadcast networks (TV and cable) 100.
ADVERTISING. The Players AdvertisersAdvertisers AgenciesAgencies MediaMedia RegulatorsRegulators Sales RepsSales Reps Support – research, buyers, etc.Support.
Media Planning and Strategy © 2007 McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., McGraw-Hill/Irwin.
Chapter 2 Fashion & Marketing Chapter 2.1 Fashion Marketing Basics.
Manage media planning and placement to enhance return on marketing investment 3.08.
Advertising. Warm-up Discussion What are your impressions of advertising in daily life? What part has advertising played in your purchase or selection.
Media Planning and Strategy
Promotion: picking the right media in advertising
Advertising Chapter 11.
14.2 Media Measurement and Rates
Marketing Communication: Advertising
Chapter 8 Using Television
3.08 Manage media planning and placement to enhance return on marketing investment.
3.08 Manage media planning and placement to enhance return on marketing investment.
Advertising Any paid form of nonpersonal presentation
D. Marketing a Small Business
Presentation transcript:

Broadcast Advertising

Advertising Defined Non-personal CommunicationNon-personal Communication Usually paid forUsually paid for By an identified sponsorBy an identified sponsor Persuasive in naturePersuasive in nature About products, ideas or servicesAbout products, ideas or services Through various mediaThrough various media

Advertising in the Marketing Mix ProductProduct –Quality, package, appearance, etc. PricePrice –Deep discount to premium PlacePlace –Distribution channels PromotionPromotion –POP, personal selling, PR, Advertising

Advertising Classified By audienceBy audience –Consumer –Business to Business IndustrialIndustrial TradeTrade ProfessionalProfessional FarmFarm

Advertising Classified GeographicallyGeographically –National –Regional –Local –International

Advertising Classified By mediumBy medium –Electronic RadioRadio TelevisionTelevision CableCable InternetInternet

Advertising Classified PrintPrint –Newspaper –Magazine OutdoorOutdoor –Billboard –Transit

Advertising Classified SpecialtySpecialty –Novelties –POP –Product placement –Etc.

Advertising Classified By functionBy function –Product -vs- non-product –Commercial -vs- non-commercial –Direct action -vs- non-direct action

The advertising industry AgenciesAgencies The mediaThe media The advertisersThe advertisers The support services and suppliersThe support services and suppliers The regulatorsThe regulators The consumersThe consumers

Advertising History Functions of advertising:Functions of advertising: –Identify products and differentiate them –Communicate information about product –Induce consumers to try the product –Increase product usage –Build brand preference and loyalty

Advertising History Dates to 1600sDates to 1600s –British newspapers paid notices

Advertising History Ben Franklin is credited with introducing white space and illustrationsBen Franklin is credited with introducing white space and illustrations

Advertising History Magazines became first national mediumMagazines became first national medium Volney Palmer – first ad agency – 1841Volney Palmer – first ad agency – 1841 –Bought newspaper and magazine space in large volumes at discount. –Marked up 15% N. W. Ayer – first full service agencyN. W. Ayer – first full service agency

Broadcast Advertising History Out of the debate on how to pay for broadcasting came…Out of the debate on how to pay for broadcasting came… “Toll” broadcasting“Toll” broadcasting –WEAF –AT&T station “telephone philosophy of paying toll for long distance calls.“telephone philosophy of paying toll for long distance calls. First commercial broadcastFirst commercial broadcast time.com/commercials/1stcommercial.htmlhttp:// time.com/commercials/1stcommercial.htmlhttp:// time.com/commercials/1stcommercial.htmlhttp:// time.com/commercials/1stcommercial.html

Broadcast Advertising History Post WWIPost WWI –Radio grew –Lifestyles improved –Spending increased –Radio networks emerged –Advertising stressed the “Unique Selling Proposition”

Broadcast Advertising History Television explodes post WWIITelevision explodes post WWII –Radio programs shift to television –Radio adopts musical formats Advertising costs increaseAdvertising costs increase Sponsorships give way to participations or “spots”Sponsorships give way to participations or “spots” By the 1960s – advertising entered the “image era”By the 1960s – advertising entered the “image era”

Broadcast Advertising History Depicting a lifestyle – not product informationDepicting a lifestyle – not product information Emotional appeals – not logical appealsEmotional appeals – not logical appeals Remember the package – not the nameRemember the package – not the name Focus on benefits to consumerFocus on benefits to consumer

The contemporary advertising industry Complicated by the proliferation of mediaComplicated by the proliferation of media Audiences are splinteredAudiences are splintered –Narrowcasting Clutter and competitionClutter and competition High costs of media drive demand for researchHigh costs of media drive demand for research

Effects of advertising On pricesOn prices On competitionOn competition On product imageOn product image On demandOn demand –“Creating” demands? –Bran, fiber, carbs, cosmetics, vitamins, etc. –Slow a declining market – “repositioning”

Media strategy Buying patternsBuying patterns –Weekly cycles –Monthly cycles –Annual cycles –Seasonal products Products/service with fixed maximum capacitiesProducts/service with fixed maximum capacities

Media strategy

ReachReach –Unduplicated exposures – gross impressions –Number of different people exposed to the message FrequencyFrequency –Average number of exposures –How many times audience is exposed to message

Media strategy Best frequencyBest frequency –Outdoor, newspapers, magazines Best ReachBest Reach –Network advertising, magazines Best combinationBest combination –Radio

Media strategy Calculating cost efficiencyCalculating cost efficiency Cost per thousand (CPM)Cost per thousand (CPM) –How much it costs to deliver 1000 gross impressions –How much to reach 1000 listeners, viewers, readers, households, etc.

CPM 2 $8.00 each 1 reaches 4500 QHP 1 reaches 3500 QHP

CPM = 8000 gross impressions = 8000 gross impressions 2 $8 = $16 – cost of the schedule2 $8 = $16 – cost of the schedule $16 ÷ 8000 =$16 ÷ 8000 = ¢ per person.002 ¢ per person X 1000 = 2.00X 1000 = 2.00 $2 per 1000 QHP$2 per 1000 QHP

CPM

CPM 200 ÷ =.004

CPM

CPM 354 ÷ =.002

Waste circulation Reaching people who are not the desired audienceReaching people who are not the desired audience Demographics = age, gender, incomeDemographics = age, gender, income Psychographics = “lifestyle”Psychographics = “lifestyle”

Audience research How we know the size of the audience reachedHow we know the size of the audience reached Rating = percentage of all possible viewers or listenersRating = percentage of all possible viewers or listeners Share = percentage of people using mediaShare = percentage of people using media Share is always a larger numberShare is always a larger number

Audience research All possible viewers or listeners 100%

Audience research TVHH 100%

HUT Not viewing HUT level = 50 50%

Audience research Tuned to our spot Not viewing

Audience research 25% of TVHH – 50% of HUT

Audience research Rating = 25 Share = 50

Audience research terms Gross ratings pointsGross ratings points Average quarter hour people (QHP)Average quarter hour people (QHP)

Audience research Began in the 1920s with radio listenershipBegan in the 1920s with radio listenership Archibald Crossley personal interviewsArchibald Crossley personal interviews C. E. Hooper – Hooperatings – personalC. E. Hooper – Hooperatings – personal A. C. NielsenA. C. Nielsen –Diaries –Audimeter

Audimeter

A.C. Nielsen Now only television ratingsNow only television ratings Use diaries, audimeters and “people meters”Use diaries, audimeters and “people meters” Meters used for “overnights”Meters used for “overnights”

A.C. Nielsen terminology Total survey area (TSA)Total survey area (TSA) Designated market area (DMA)Designated market area (DMA) –Every county in the U.S. assigned to a DMA Metro survey area (MSA)Metro survey area (MSA)

Market areas TSA TSA DMA DMA TSA

Arbitron Radio researchRadio research DairiesDairies Developing the “personal people meter” (PPM)Developing the “personal people meter” (PPM)

Arbitron terminology Total survey area (TSA)Total survey area (TSA) Area of Dominant Influence (ADI)Area of Dominant Influence (ADI) –Every county assigned to an ADI Metro survey area (MSA)Metro survey area (MSA)

Problems in audience research Poor return rates of diariesPoor return rates of diaries Absenteeism – controlled by PMsAbsenteeism – controlled by PMs HypingHyping What does “listening” or “viewing” really mean as it relates to advertising?What does “listening” or “viewing” really mean as it relates to advertising?