Succeeding on Google By NetStart Pty Ltd Absolute Domestics Google Marketing.

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Presentation transcript:

Succeeding on Google By NetStart Pty Ltd Absolute Domestics Google Marketing

Presentation Outline Part 1: Google’s World Domination Part 2: Understanding Google Search Results Part 3: Google Adwords Advertising Part 4: Google Place Listings Part 5: NetStart Reports

Succeeding on Google By NetStart Pty Ltd Part 1: Google’s World Domination

Google’s World Domination Over 1,000,000,000,000 Pages Indexed Over 1,000,000,000 Searches per Day Over 1,000,000 Computers are used to process search requests Google Controls 85% of the Global Search Market Google Controls 95% of the Australian Search Market

Google’s World Domination

97% of Revenue is generated from Adwords The projections for the 2011 financial show an increase of 30% in revenue for Google. Many Reports are showing Advertisers to be moving away from traditional forms of advertising and spending more online. Google is the dominant choice for online advertising.

Succeeding on Google By NetStart Pty Ltd Part 2: Understanding Google Search Results

Succeeding on Google By NetStart Pty Ltd Part 3: Google Adwords Advertising

Adwords Structure

Our Campaigns are divided into 3 Different Types: GEO-LOCATION (GL): Using Google’s geolocation technology, we are able to tell Google the areas we would like our Ad to appear. For example, if someone enters the search ‘house cleaners’ and we have a GL campaign with a location set to Brisbane, people located in Brisbane will see our Ad. GEO-KEYWORD (GK): Using keywords, we can target locations on Google so that it doesn’t matter where a person is located when they search. For example, if someone in Perth searches for ‘brisbane house cleaners’, this will trigger one of our GK Ads for Brisbane. SUBURB (S): Suburb campaigns are use keywords to target people searching on Google. They are therefore exactly the same as a Geo-Keyword campaign. The main difference is that they only use 1 Adgroup for each campaign. Our standard GK Campaigns use around 70 Adgroups. We are running 4 Suburb Campaigns for each franchise areas, using a different Adgroup for each suburb. We use 68 different Adgroups in our targeting on Google. Every Adgroup contains a short closely matching keyword list and 2 text ads. We are currently running around 40,000 Adgroups for the Absolute Domestics network.

Adwords Structure Keywords There are 220 core Keywords that we have set up in templates so that they can be added into any one of our 3 campaigns. Each of these keywords is also run using 3 different matching types: Exact Matching Example: [cleaners brisbane] will only be triggered if someone types ‘cleaners brisbane’ exactly into Google. A search for ‘cleaners in brisbane’ would not trigger our Exact keyword. Phrase Matching Example: “cleaners brisbane” will be triggered if someone types into Google ‘find cleaners brisbane’ or ‘cleaners brisbane city’, but not if someone types in ‘cleaners in brisbane’. Broad Matching Example: cleaners brisbane will be triggered when someone enters ‘cleaners in brisbane’ or ‘cleaner northside brisbane’ In total, with all of our campaigns and matching types, we have set up over 1.5 million keyword targets for the Absolute Domestics network.

Adwords Structure Text Ads Text Ad Testing plays an important role in our ability to increase CTR. With so many Ads running for the Absolute Domestics network, a lot of work has been needed to be able to group all of our data together to get a clear idea of what is our best performing Ad Text. Here’s an example of a report: This type of reporting allows us to easily see what is working. The highlighted lines represent active Ads. As you can see, our trial of ‘Trusted & Affordable Home Cleaners’ is our best performing Ad. We are currently running over 80,000 Text Ads for the Absolute Domestics network.

Adwords Results Calculation of Ad Position Max. CPC x Quality Score = AdRank Max CPC is the maximum amount we are willing to pay for a keyword position. Quality Score is a measure of our relevance to the search being made. Factors such as keyword matching in our Ad Structure, Landing Page Quality and CTR (or Click Through Rate) are all used to determine Quality Score. Google also uses complex algorithms to assess the website as a whole for it’s relevancy for the search being made, which are also used for the SEO results.

Adwords Results Measuring Results Over the past year, Google has made many changes to how it distributes results Ads will not always appear 100% of the time. To test whether your Ad is showing, you need to login into your Google account and view the Impressions for a keyword search. Manually checking keywords in Google or using the Preview Tool will not provide an accurate result.

Succeeding on Google By NetStart Pty Ltd Part 4: Google Place Listings

Succeeding on Google By NetStart Pty Ltd Part 5: Netstart Reports

Terminology Impressions Each time someone searches on Google or the Google Network and your AdWords ad displays, it is counted as one "impression." The "Impr" located on your reporting statistics shows the number of impressions for your ad. Clicks Where your Ad appears on Google or the Google Network and someone clicks on your Ad. Click Through Rate (or CTR) This represents the percentage of Impressions that resulted in a Click on your Ad. Average Cost Per Click (or Avg. CPC) The average amount you pay each time someone clicks your ad. Average CPC is determined by totalling the cost of all clicks and dividing it by the number of clicks received. Here's an example: if your ad receives two clicks, one costing $0.20 and one costing $0.40, your average CPC for those clicks is $0.30. Average Position (or Avg. Pos) The average position our Ad has appeared for the impressions received.

Terminology Goals These are actions on the website that we have deemed to be a positive result from a click to our website. We are currently tracking Enquiries, Online Bookings and Find Rate Enquiries. Goal Through Rate (or GTR) This represents the percentage of Clicks that resulted in a Goal on your Ad. Cost Per Goal (or CPG) The cost incurred to achieve a goal on our website. Bounce Rate (or BR) When a click results in a single page visit to the website.

Features 12 Month Comparison Graphs

Features Goal Details

Features 24 Month Historical Data

Features Goal and Click Distribution Graphs

Features Sortable Tables and More Results

References