India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study Arnab Sinha Sudipta Ray Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur.

Slides:



Advertisements
Similar presentations
Policy and Regulatory Challenges – Technology Providers View February 14 Challenges for Successful Implementation of ICT Projects Challenges for Successful.
Advertisements

Through Michael Porters Five Forces Ana lysis Presented By-Anubhav Bhushan.
Business Strategy of Vodafone & O2: Ireland Ioannis Sapountzis IK2514.
Opportunities and Challenges of Operating Both GSM & CDMA Networks Dr. William Li General Manager Marketing & Sales Dept.
Deden Mulyana Indonesia 2013 Transforming the Mobile Advertising Industry V.2 MOBILE OPPORTUNITY 2013.
By Harmeet Singh.  When India became independent in 1947,it already had about 82,000 telephone connections which rose upto 3 million in year 1985.
IDEA CELLULAR LTD., We recommend to Buy with a price target of Buying Level : Target : Support levels : Resistance : 155.
Aviel Tenenbaum Executive Vice President, GS&M ECI Telecom in Brazil Brazil: Technological Innovation & investment Opportunities December 15, 2008 Tel.
LIBERALISATION ERA FOR INDIAN TELECOM REGULATION INDUSTRY WORKSHOP by Rakesh Agrawal, ITS (Retd,) Director, CMAI Former Advisor Technology, DOT Government.
Snapshot of Telecom in India (prepared in Feb ’04)
Taiwan’s Mobile Data Services User: Survey Results 2007 III-FIND Selena Lin.
Introduction EMI music group was established in 1931 when Gramophone Company merges with Columbia Graph phone to form Electric and Musical Industries.
B2E: Marketing Plan Mid-point Meeting
LogNet Information Technologies PLC May Innovative software company of customer experience solutions for multiple verticals Core products include.
Telecom industry overview….. Facts of the industry:  Total telecom subscribers: (at the end of September 2011)  The tele density in India has.
Mobile TV Securing Mobile Services Lital Marom Product Manager
Regulations in the Era of Rapid Technological Changes A presentation by N K Mangla TDSAT’s Seminar on Dispute Settlement and Protection of Consumer Rights.
China Mobile Edmundo Lozano Ryan Mueller April 19, 2010.
PRODUCTS – PRICING MARKETING 360 Brian Gillespie.
China Mobile Edmundo Lozano Ryan Mueller April 19, 2010.
Marketing Research Ch. 28 ME. Marketing Information Systems Section 28.1.
Advertising Agencies and Channels. Ad Agencies in India AD AGENCIES.
Personal Financial Advisor Marketing Plan Wise Money.
Sectoral Analysis : Mobile Application Industry Submitted By : Sagar Deshmukh Birla Institute of Management Technology (BIMTECH )
International Telecommunication Union Committed to Connecting the World The World in 2009: ICT Facts and Figures Jaroslaw K. PONDER Strategy and Policy.
Market overview & analysis
13 Chapter Marketing in Today’s World pp
How Gaming will become a Billion $ business in India Siddhartha Roy COO – Hungama Digital Media.
Online Trade Communities Promote, Connect & Grow 26 th September 2012.
I-DATE Internet: Act II… will be also Mobile! Alan Harper Group Strategy Director.
SOHU.COM Clement Chang Anurag Jain Bryan Jenkins.
Corporate Presentation Corporate Presentation August, 2004.
Finance Task 3. Step 1: Identify Your Revenue Model.
Presentation 1 Impact of Internet to Wireless Network Construction Business – Case Finland Master’s thesis presentation Jim Mäkelä Supervisor:
1 Financial Strength & Market Leadership June 2002.
Public Utility Research Center Mobile Paradigm in Developing Countries Mark A. Jamison Public Utility Research Center University of.
Association of Basic Telecom Operators welcomes H.E. Ambassador David Gross, US Coordinator for International Communications & Information Policy; Mr Michael.
Altruist Mobile Banking. INTRODUCTION The mobile phone is the most popular device of the masses and these days it provides services beyond voice and text.
TECHNOLOGICAL CHANGES IN GLOBAL ECONOMY PRESENTED BY: BIJAY SHARMA SECTION: A PGDM 1 st SEM.
Pricing. Price: - is the amount of money charged for a product or service. - is the sum of all the values that consumers exchange for the benefits of.
Mobile data market overview Forecasts & Reality Dominic Schreiber, TBI.
1 Status of Broadband New Delhi 15 December 2006 Presentation by S.C. Khanna, Secretary General Association of Unified Telecom Service Providers of India.
Future of Web Business Arpad Horvath Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering University of California, Berkeley October 19, 2004.
The DIGITAL MEDIA IN new records were set Several records broken and new records were set second largest country India became the second largest.
1 1 Slide Investing in Indian Telecom Laxmi G Vulpala.
2.Global trends and underlying forces determining the progress on the world IC sector 2.1. Reforms of IC sector - evolution of legislation and regulations.
Presentation on investing opportunities in Telecommunication sector in India  Presented by- Pargat Singh.
PriceCheck.com Need for compare prices No other website offers the same service.
The Saudi ICT Market and E‐Commerce Potential
PricewaterhouseCoopers Indian Telecom Sector Outlook  July 2010 Siddharth Vishwanath Associate Director, PricewaterhouseCoopers.
Market overview & analysis
Economic benefits and implications in investing and deploying new technologies - Bridging Digital Divide with Mobility Dr. Walid Moneimne SVP, Nokia Networks.
TELECOMMUNICATION INDUSTRY
Overview of Sony Pictures Television Networks Materials Presented to Sony Corporation’s Board of Directors July 18, 2011.
The Ministry of Information &Communication Technologies Ms. Violeta EPUREANU, Minister’s advisor Mr. Viorel MUNTEANU, Director Moldova ICT overview. Accomplishing.
Modelling and Forecasting the Diffusion of Telephones in India - Dr. Sanjay K. Singh Department of Humanities and Social Sciences Indian Institute of Technology.
1 Diskusi Panel “Broadband Wireless Access Indonesia, Peluang dan Tantangan” Sept 2, 2010.
Presentation to Joint Oireachtas Committee [27/01/2016] Jeremy Godfrey, Chairperson Kevin O’Brien, Commissioner Gerry Fahy, Commissioner.
Overview of Sony Pictures Television Networks and Indian Regional Channels Opportunity Materials Presented to Sony Corporation’s Board of Directors July.
1 The Mobile Communications Sector within the Greek Economy and Society.
Or the 4 Ps of marketing.  The marketing mix or 4 Ps of marketing: ◦ Price ◦ Product ◦ Promotion ◦ Place  Decisions about these are based on the results.
NetCom The future is wireless 1 NETCOM ASA Presentation of first quarter results May, 2000 Terje Christoffersen President and Chief Executive Officer.
Lecture 9 HBS Case: Virgin Mobile
Chapter 25 price planning Section 25.1 Price Planning Issues
RELIANCE JIO – ABRUPTION IN TELECOM SECTOR
First Quarter Fiscal Year 2009 Financial Results December 19, 2008
Predictions For The Future of Cloud Computing. Cloud Services In India.
Measuring Telecom Services
Chapter 8: Selecting an appropriate price level
Telecom Circle India Telecom Market Telecom Circle
Presentation transcript:

India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study Arnab Sinha Sudipta Ray Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur

Service Promotion 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET Market Trends Existing Market Competition Business Base Evaluation of Policies Cost Structure Technology Requirements

Service Promotion 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET Market Trends Existing Market Competition Business Base Evaluation of Policies Cost Structure Technology Requirements

Expected Usage in 2007: 111 million (from CAGR of 94%) Market Trends Cheaper Infrastructure Cost

Service Promotion 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET Market Trends Existing Market Competition Business Base Evaluation of Policies Cost Structure Technology Requirements

Existing Market Competition Stake in Existing Market : Technology relied upon : Total Investment : Analyzing the predicted Market Revenue Trends, expected Break Even Period for Vodafone BHARTI (10%) GSM (Larger service range in India) 1.5 billion USD Our Target Break Even before February 2008 Vodafone Break Even

Service Promotion 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET Market Trends Existing Market Competition Business Base Evaluation of Policies Cost Structure Technology Requirements

Business Base Current Position of Reliance in market % of the subscriber population - Largest CDMA provider in India - 54% of the population is below the age of Estimated youth’s annual spending  US$10.5 billion 1 1 Collaboration with Reliance! Targeting the Youth Section! Launching the service on Valentine’s Day! Customer Base

Service Promotion 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET Market Trends Existing Market Competition Business Base Evaluation of Policies Cost Structure Technology Requirements

Increased talk time Superior Power Control Lowest radiation level Hi-Speed Internet Access –India has less than 0.4% penetration CDMA1x handsets (140 kbps) Most successful 3G Tech –CDMA2000 controls 85% of the World’s 3G market –Adds 15 million new users per quarter Worldwide Better Voice & Consistent Quality Advanced platform supporting innovative applications GSM 3G evolution relies on CDMA Technology Requirements Hence CDMA – choice for the 3 rd generation!

Service Promotion 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET Market Trends Existing Market Competition Business Base Evaluation of Policies Cost Structure Technology Requirements

Cost Structure Total Reliance Revenue = Normal Revenue + 3G Revenue Young Reliance Customers Reliance Subscriber Accessing Internet Estd. Avg Packet Consumption per month (APC) Charge (C) Packet wise Billing

Cost Structure 50p for each 128 Bytes packet Billing Structure Following Japan’s estimate 5 5 APC=8192(1MB) Reliance Customer Base  20.3% of 38.5 Mn 6 = 7.82 Mn 6 Target 54% 1 1 Young Customer = 4.22 million Total Reliance Revenue = Normal Revenue + 3G Revenue Young Reliance Customers Reliance Subscriber Accessing Internet Estd. Avg Packet Consumption per month (APC) Charge (C) Packet wise billing Target Break even  December 2007 COMPUTATION STEPS

Estimated Breakup of Expenses Estimated cost for infrastructure, planning services, site civil works (based on other countries’ statistics) billion INR Licensing fees, sales and marketing cost (26% 15 of the acquired revenue) billion INR Total Expense (Approx) 115 billion INR Feb, 2006 Dec, 2007 Estd. Revenue Earned 143 billion Large Profit Margin

Service Promotion 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET Market Trends Existing Market Competition Business Base Evaluation of Policies Cost Structure Technology Requirements

Service Promotion Attractive Rate Utilities as per demand Handset Cost Communication Entertainment Information Services Agro-business Optional Commercial Services Communication Entertainment Information Services Agro-business Optional Commercial Services Average Handset Price 19, 448 INR Average Handset Price 19, 448 INR ARPU 1475 INR only ARPU 1475 INR only Advertisement

Service Promotion 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET Market Trends Existing Market Competition Business Base Evaluation of Policies Cost Structure Technology Requirements

Largest CDMA Provider Defeat Vodafone Lucrative Offers after Dec’07 Appeasement of Government Adaptive to Market Forces Evaluation of Policies Reliance Target Break Even – Dec’07 Survival of Competition Early Start Beneficial Utilities Wider Estd. Profit margin

Thank You! Service Promotion Market Trends Existing Market Competition Business Base Evaluation of Policies Cost Structure Technology Requirements

References 1. Statistical Outline of India , 2005 Media Release , 2005 Media Release _saturation_ CDMA_Mobile_Technology html

Backup Slides

The Average International Market Price of 3G mobile Handsets =  World market share i x Avg. handset cost x conversion factor i = 19,448 INR Source: Gartner, 2003 Back

Computation Steps under Packet-Wise Billing Current Internet User Count=38.5million 2 Reliance Subscriber Count=20.3%of 38.5=7.82million Targeted Youth Population=54%of 7.82=4.22million Customer Base for Reliance=11.65million(data provided) Ratio for Target Customer for 3G= 4.22/11.65 = 0.36 Considering this ratio remaining constant, Revenue earned within the breakeven period limits::  Revenue earned by telephony  Revenue earned by internet usage

Computation Steps cont.. Revenue earned by telephony: ∫ ARPU(t)xsub.population(t) = Area under the Revenue Curve  = billion INR Revenue earned by internet usage: =Charge per packet ( C ) x Avg.Packetconsumption (APC) x Ratio of Target Customers x ∫Sub.population(t) = 0.5x8192x0.36x{Area under the Subscriber Poplulation Curve}  = billion INR Total Revenue = billionINR

Computation Steps cont. Total Revenue = billion Total Reliance Revenue = 20.3% of = billion If acquired a 10% stake, Returns to the company = 10% of ≈ 143 billion >> 115 billion (investment cost) Back

Vodafone’s Returns: Computation steps for the Breakeven Based on the Plot  Returns(t) = Area Under the Plot = t t (billions ) Returns till Breakeven period = 1.5 billion USD = million INR * Solving for t: t =19.95 months ≈ 20 months  By February *Exchange rate =Rs 42/- Back

Aiming the technology Aiming the technology Source: CDG, AUSPI, TelecomWatch,COAI, TRAI Wireless growth after introduction of CDMA 4 : 4 Subscriber growth in GSM: CAGR of 74% * Subscriber growth in CDMA: CAGR of 205% * Increase in Teledensity: 6% * Decrease in tariff: 75% *

Indian Market Feasibility

TARGETED CUSTOMER : THE YOUTH? 54% of the population is below the age of 24 Estimated youth’s annual spending  US$10.5bn with growth rate of 12% % of young India opts for career in web related activities 3 3 Demand for internet access (38.5 Mn currently) may shoot up to 100 Mn in 2 years.