Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited Finance for Non-Financial Managers, 6 th edition PowerPoint Slides to accompany Prepared by Pierre Bergeron,

Slides:



Advertisements
Similar presentations
5.2 Costs and Revenues IBBM.
Advertisements

Managing Finance and Budgets Seminar 5. Seminar Five - Activities  Preparation: read M & A Chapters 8, 9 and 10  Describe key concepts: Objectives of.
Chapter 5. Merchandisers Cost of Goods Sold Manufacturers Direct Material, Direct Labor, and Variable Manufacturing Overhead Merchandisers and Manufacturers.
Islamic University of Gaza Managerial Accounting
Financial and Managerial Accounting
Copyright © 2007 Prentice-Hall. All rights reserved 1 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Chapter 21.
Chapter 2 Basic Cost Management Concepts and Accounting for Mass Customization Operations.
Chapter 20 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis and Variable Costing
Budgeting.
(c) 2002 Contemporary Engineering Economics 1 Chapter 3 Cost Concepts and Behaviors.
3 - 1 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Chapter Learning Objective 1 Understand the assumptions underlying cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis.
Strategic Marketing MKT470 Part 1: Variable Cost 1) Variable Costs 2) Fixed Costs Part 2:Relevant Sunk Cost 1) Relevant Costs 2) Sunk Costs Part 3: Gross.
Cost Accounting Allocation of Overhead MB-664 May 2009.
Using CVP Analysis Example
Contemporary Engineering Economics, 4 th edition, © 2007 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Lecture No. 30 Chapter 8 Contemporary Engineering Economics Copyright.
(c) 2002 Contemporary Engineering Economics 1 Chapter 3 Cost Concepts and Behaviors General Cost Terms Classifying Costs for Financial Statements Cost.
©2003 Prentice Hall Business Publishing, Cost Accounting 11/e, Horngren/Datar/Foster Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Chapter 3.
Cost concepts, Cost Classification and Estimation
1 Management Decision Making. 2 Lecture Outline Cost Volume Profit Analysis Equation Method Assessment of Risk Assumptions Contribution Margin Method.
Business Decisions & the Economics of One Unit
1 Understanding Project Cost Elements Lecture No. 22 Chapter 9 Fundamentals of Engineering Economics Copyright © 2008.
Financial and Managerial Accounting
CHAPTER 5 COST – VOLUME - PROFIT Study Objectives
PowerPoint Authors: Susan Coomer Galbreath, Ph.D., CPA Charles W. Caldwell, D.B.A., CMA Jon A. Booker, Ph.D., CPA, CIA Cynthia J. Rooney, Ph.D., CPA Managerial.
Basic Cost Management Concepts and Accounting for Mass Customization Operations Chapter 2 Copyright © 2011 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights.
Accounting Principles, Ninth Edition
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Objective 1 Identify how changes in volume affect costs.
Costs & Revenue Chapter 31.
Copyright © 2007 Prentice-Hall. All rights reserved 1 Building Blocks of Management Accounting Chapter 2.
Slide 1 Your company produces sports T-Shirts. Name some COSTS that might be incurred for you to produce T-Shirts. Over Christmas your production facility.
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Chapter 22. Objective 1 Identify how changes in volume affect costs.
23-1 Copyright  Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved. Chapter 23 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis and Variable Costing Belverd E. Needles, Jr. Marian.
Accounting Principles, Eighth Edition
Accounting Principles, Ninth Edition
© 2008 by Nelson, a division of Thomson Canada Limited Transparency 9.1 Finance for Non-Financial Managers Fifth Edition Slides prepared by Pierre G. Bergeron.
Copyright ©2008 Prentice Hall. All rights reserved 2-1 Building Blocks of Managerial Accounting Chapter 2.
Cost Volume Profit Analysis (CVP)
Copyright © 2008 Prentice Hall All rights reserved 7-1 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Chapter 7.
© The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., 2002 McGraw-Hill/Irwin Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Chapter 19.
5.2 Costs and Revenues Chapter 31. Management Decisions and Cost Business decisions cannot be made without cost information. Why?  Profit or loss cannot.
Copyright © 2008 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. McGraw-Hill/Irwin Basic Cost Management Concepts and Accounting for Mass Customization.
Copyright © by Houghton Miffin Company. All rights reserved.1 Financial & Managerial Accounting 2002e Belverd E. Needles, Jr. Marian Powers Susan Crosson.
Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited Finance for Non-Financial Managers, 6 th edition PowerPoint Slides to accompany Prepared by Pierre Bergeron,
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis. CVP Scenario Cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis is the study of the effects of output volume on revenue (sales), expenses.
Contemporary Engineering Economics Contemporary Engineering Economics, 5 th edition, © 2010.
HFT 3431 Chapter 6 Basic Cost Concepts Cost Related Questions n What Are the Hotel’s Fixed Costs? n Which Costs Are Relevant to Purchasing a New Microcomputer?
1.
Business Decisions & the Economics of One Unit
© 2007 Pearson Education Canada Slide 4-1 Cost Management Systems 4.
4 - 1 © 2005 Accounting 1/e, Terrell/Terrell Planning for and Predicting Performance Chapter 4.
Warren Reeve Duchac Accounting 26e Cost Behavior and Cost- Volume-Profit Analysis 21 C H A P T E R.
Chapter 4 Short-Term Decision Making Copyright © 2011 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.McGraw-Hill/Irwin.
Student Version o Repetition is an important component, a key part of learning. In memory, the more times patterns of thought are repeated, the more likely.
1 Chapter 5- Cost-Volume-Profit-Analysis. Summer, Edited May 23, Copyright © 2011, Dr. Howard Godfrey This file contains illustrative problems.
Chapter 11 Cost Behavior and Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis.
Chapter Basic Cost Terminology Cost – resource sacrificed to achieve a specific objective Actual cost – a cost that has occurred Budgeted cost.
Copyright © 2008 Pearson Education Canada 6-1 Chapter 6 Contemporary Business Mathematics With Canadian Applications Eighth Edition S. A. Hummelbrunner/K.
3.2 Costs and Revenues Topic 3: Finance and Accounts.
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Chapter 2. CVP analysis is used to answer questions such as:  How much must I sell to earn my desired income?  How will.
Chapter 12 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis. Chapter 122 Chapter 12: Objectives Define break-even point (BEP) and cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis and recognize.
Chapter 17 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
Short-term Decision Making
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
Managerial Accounting and Cost Cocepts
Chapter 1 An Introduction to Cost Terms and Purposes
Managerial Accounting 2002e
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
Cost Behavior: Analysis and Use
Cost Behavior: Analysis and Use
Presentation transcript:

Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited Finance for Non-Financial Managers, 6 th edition PowerPoint Slides to accompany Prepared by Pierre Bergeron, University of Ottawa

Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited Finance for Non-Financial Managers, 6 th edition CHAPTER 5 PROFIT PLANNING AND DECISION-MAKING

Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited Profit Planning and Decision-Making 1.Explain various cost concepts related to break-even analysis such as fixed and variable costs, the relationship between revenue and costs, the contribution margin, the relevant range and relevant costs. 1.Draw the break-even chart and calculate the break-even point, the cash break-even point and the profit break-even point and how they can be applied in different organizations. 1.Differentiate between different types of cost concepts such as committed and discretionary costs, controllable and non- controllable costs, and direct and indirect costs. Chapter Reference Chapter 5: Profit Planning and Decision-Making Chapter Objectives

Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited Relevance of Break-Even Analysis Break-even analysis helps to: 1.Price existing or new products and services. 2.Decide whether to introduce a new product or service, open a new plant, hire a sales representative, open a new sales office, launch an advertising program. 3.Modernize or automate an existing plant. 4.Expand an existing plant. 5.Change the cost structure (fixed versus variable).

Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited 1. Fixed and Variable Costs Fixed costs Period costs Constant costs Standby costs Characteristic Element of fixedness and must be paid with passage of time. Variable costs Direct costs Out-of-pocket costs Volume costs Characteristic Vary almost automatically with volume. Sales commission, direct labour, packing material, electricity, overtime premiums, equipment rental, truck expenses Rent, interest, insurance, property taxes, office salaries, depreciation, telephone

Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited Connection Between Revenue and Costs Factors that affect profit: 1.Volume of production 2.Prices 3.Costs (fixed and variable) 4.Changes in product mix Cost per Unit (in $) AB C D E G F H % of Capacity

Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited The Contribution Margin PV Ratio $250,000 $1,000, Revenue Less variable costs: Direct material Direct labour Total variable costs Contribution margin Less fixed costs: Manufacturing Administration Total fixed costs Operating profit ($ 500,000) (250,000) (150,000) (50,000) $ 1,000,000 (750,000) 250,000 (200,000) $ 50,000 PV ratio

Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited 2. J. Smith’s Break-Even (Taxi Driver) $ Trips 6,000 Costs/Revenue Variable costs $2.00 Fixed costs Insurance Car payment (principal or depreciation) Interest Dispatcher fees Variable costs Gas Maintenance & repairs Fixed costs $15,000 $$$$$$ Revenue Variable costs Contribution margin $$$$ = 15, ,875 trips Revenue $10.00 Total costs = $$$$ 45, ,625 trips Break-even point

Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited J. Smith’s Break-Even (Taxi Driver) No salary With salary 1,875 $ 18,750 ($ 3,750) $ 15,000 ($ 15,000) ,625 $ 56,250 ($ 11,250) $ 45,000 ($ 15,000) ($ 30,000) ,000 $ 60,000 ($ 12,000) $ 48,000 ($ 15,000) ($ 30,000) $ 3, No. of trips Revenue ($10.00) Variable costs ($2.00) Contribution margin Fixed costs Salary Profit P.V. Ratio

Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited Finding the Break-Even Point Using the Formula Unit selling price$ (P) Fixed costs$200,000 (F) Unit variable costs$ (V) Break-even calculation Step 2:$200,000 ÷ $5.00 = 40,000 units (volume) Step 3:40,000 units X $15.00 = $600,000 (sales revenue) Step 1:Contribution margin Selling price$15.00 Variable costs$10.00 Contribution margin$ 5.00

Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited Break-Even Point Calculation Fixed costs Price per unit sold – Variable cost per unit or unit contribution $200,000 $ $10.00 B.E.P.= In Units In revenue B.E.P.= = 40,000 units Step 2:Find the revenue break-even point B.E.P. = == $600,000 Step 1:Find the PV ratio PV = ==.333 Fixed costs PV $200, Unit contribution Unit selling price $5.00 $15.00 X $15.00 $ 600,000

Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited Break-Even Point By Using the PV Ratio Step 2: Find the revenue break-even point B.E.P. = == $600,000 Step 1:Find the PV ratio PV = ==.333 Fixed costs PV $200, Contribution Revenue $200,000 $600,000 Finding the break-even point when units are not known, you need to re-structure the statement of income $$$$$$$$$$ Revenue600,000 Variable costs 400,000 Contribution margin 200,000 Fixed costs 200,000 Profit/loss 0

Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited Break-Even Point (Retail Store) Suits Jackets Shirts Ties Socks Overcoats Total No. of units , Unit selling price $300$150$50$50 $8$300 Revenue$500,000 Variable costs ($275,000) (25,000) Total variable costs($300,000) Contribution margin$200,000 Fixed costs ($100,000) Profit$100,000 Contribution margin $200,000 Revenue $500,000 Fixed costs$100,000 PV ratio.40 = =.40 or $0.40 = = $250,000 Purchases Sales commission (rent, telephone, salaries, security system) 50% of objective OK!!!

Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited Cash Break-Even Point Fixed costs - Depreciation Price per unit sold – Variable cost per unit $ 200,000 - $50,000 $150,000 $ $10.00$5.00 In Units In revenue = = 30,000 units = = $450,000 Fixed costs - Depreciation PV $150,

Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited Profit Break-Even Fixed costs + Profit objective Price per unit sold – Variable cost per unit $200,000 + $20,000 $220,000 $ $10.00 $5.00 In Units In revenue = = 44,000 units = = $660,000 Fixed costs + Profit objective PV $220,

Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited Sensitivity Analysis Base case Break-even Break-even in units in revenue 40,000 $600,000 Selling price (increased by $0.50 to $15.50) 36,364 $563,642 Change in Fixed costs (increased by $50,000 to $250,000) 50,000 $750,000 Variable costs (decreased by $0.75 to $9.25) 34,782 $521,730

Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited Company ACompany B Company DCompany C Revenue Fixed costs PV =.40 Total costs Revenue Fixed costs PV =.30 Total costs Revenue Fixed costs PV =.30 Total costs Revenue Fixed costs PV =.40 Total costs Break-Even Wedges

Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited Where Break-Even Analysis Can be Used Company-wide Trucking operation Plant Direct mail advertising District or sales territory Taxi business Retail store Movie theatre Production centre Advertising program Department store Travel agency Product/division Hotel business Service centre Restaurant business Machine operation Book publishing Airline business

Copyright © 2011 Nelson Education Limited 3. Other Cost Concepts Committed costs: Costs that must be incurred in order to operate a business. Discretionary fixed costs: Costs that can be controlled by managers. Controllable costs: Costs that operating managers are accountable for. Non-controllable costs: Costs that are not under the direct control of managers. Direct costs: Materials and labour expenses that are directly incurred when making a product or providing a service. Indirect costs: Costs that are necessary in the production cycle but that cannot be clearly allocated to specific products or services.