Fundamentals of Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Chapter 3 Copyright © 2011 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.McGraw-Hill/Irwin.

Slides:



Advertisements
Similar presentations
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Managerial Accounting Prepared by Diane Tanner University of North Florida Chapter 7.
Advertisements

Copyright © 2007 Prentice-Hall. All rights reserved 1 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Chapter 7.
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis and Planning
Acct 2220 – Chapter 3 Copyright © 2014 McGraw-Hill Education. All rights reserved. No reproduction or distribution without the prior written consent of.
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis (Contribution Margin) CURL SURFBOARDS
Copyright © 2006, The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc.McGraw-Hill/Irwin Chapter Six Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships.
Copyright © 2009 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. McGraw-Hill/Irwin Chapter 7 Cost-Volume- Profit Analysis.
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Chapter 6. © The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., 2000 Irwin/McGraw-Hill The Basics of Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis.
6 Slide 1 Cost Volume Profit Analysis Chapter 6 INTRODUCTION The Profit Function Breakeven Analysis Differential Cost Analysis.
© 2014 by McGraw-Hill Education. This is proprietary material solely for authorized instructor use. Not authorized for sale or distribution in any manner.
Financial Decision Making 3 Break-even analysis
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships 3/10/04 Chapter 6.
Analyzing Cost, Volume, and Pricing to Increase Profitability Chapter 3.
The Basics of Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis Contribution margin (CM) is the difference between sales revenue and variable expenses. Next Page Click.
Chapter 9 Break-Even Point and Cost-Volume Profit Analysis Cost Accounting Foundations and Evolutions Kinney and Raiborn Seventh Edition COPYRIGHT © 2009.
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Chapter 6 © The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., 2000 Irwin/McGraw-Hill The Basics of Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis.
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
PowerPoint Authors: Susan Coomer Galbreath, Ph.D., CPA Charles W. Caldwell, D.B.A., CMA Jon A. Booker, Ph.D., CPA, CIA Cynthia J. Rooney, Ph.D., CPA Copyright.
Copyright © 2011 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. McGraw-Hill/Irwin Chapter 7 Cost-Volume- Profit Analysis.
Dr. Mohamed A. Hamada Lecturer of Accounting Information Systems 1-1 Chapter 5 COST-VOLUME-PROFIT ANALYSIS.
PowerPoint Authors: Susan Coomer Galbreath, Ph.D., CPA Charles W. Caldwell, D.B.A., CMA Jon A. Booker, Ph.D., CPA, CIA Cynthia J. Rooney, Ph.D., CPA McGraw-Hill/Irwin.
Fundamentals of Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
Financial and Managerial Accounting Wild, Shaw, and Chiappetta Fifth Edition Wild, Shaw, and Chiappetta Fifth Edition McGraw-Hill/Irwin Copyright © 2013.
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis © 2012 Pearson Prentice Hall. All rights reserved.
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis and Variable Costing
Chapter 5. Assumptions of CVP Analysis  Selling price is constant.  Costs are linear.  In multi-product companies, the sales mix is constant.  In.
Chapter 6 © The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., 2007 McGraw-Hill /Irwin Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships.
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Chapter 6. © The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., 2002 Irwin/McGraw-Hill 2 The Basics of Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis.
McGraw-Hill /Irwin Copyright © 2008 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. Chapter 6 Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships.
Fundamentals of Cost Analysis
Chapter 7 Cost-Volume- Profit Analysis Copyright © 2011 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. McGraw-Hill/Irwin.
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis CHAPTER 7 Copyright © 2015 McGraw-Hill Education. All rights reserved. No reproduction or distribution without the prior written.
Copyright © 2008 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. McGraw-Hill/Irwin Chapter 8 Cost-Volume- Profit Analysis.
Chapter 20 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
Copyright © 2008 Prentice Hall All rights reserved 7-1 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Chapter 7.
Copyright © 2013 Pearson Education, Inc. Publishing as Prentice Hall. Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Chapter 7 1.
Principles of Managerial Accounting
The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. 2006McGraw-Hill/Irwin 12 Financial and Cost- Volume-Profit Models.
Chapter Six Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships. CVP ANALYSIS Cost Volume Profit analysis is one of the most powerful tools that helps management to make.
Study Unit 8 CVP Analysis and Marginal Analsyis. SU- 8.1 – Cost-Volume-Profit (CVP) Analysis - Theory CVP = Break-even analysis Allows us to analyze the.
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Chapter 6 McGraw-Hill/Irwin Copyright © 2010 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
Chapter 18. Identify how changes in volume affect costs.
© The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., 2007 McGraw-Hill/Irwin Chapter 22 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis.
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Chapter 6. © The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., 2003 McGraw-Hill/Irwin The Basics of Cost-Volume- Profit (CVP) Analysis.
Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships Chapter 6 McGraw-Hill/Irwin Copyright © 2010 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
McGraw-Hill/Irwin 8-1 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis 8 Chapter Eight.
Copyright © 2006, The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc.McGraw-Hill/Irwin Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships.
Lecture 3 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis. Contribution Margin The Basic Profit Equation Break-even Analysis Solving for targeted profits.
©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.
1.
COST MANAGEMENT Accounting & Control Hansen▪Mowen▪Guan COPYRIGHT © 2009 South-Western Publishing, a division of Cengage Learning. Cengage Learning and.
PowerPoint Authors: Susan Coomer Galbreath, Ph.D., CPA Charles W. Caldwell, D.B.A., CMA Jon A. Booker, Ph.D., CPA, CIA Cynthia J. Rooney, Ph.D., CPA Cost-Volume-Profit.
Copyright © 2006, The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc.McGraw-Hill/Irwin 11 th Edition Chapter 6.
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis. THE BREAK-EVEN POINT(BEP) The break-even point is the point in the volume of activity where the organization’s revenues and.
© 2014 by McGraw-Hill Education. This is proprietary material solely for authorized instructor use. Not authorized for sale or distribution in any manner.
Copyright © 2009 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. McGraw-Hill/Irwin Chapter 7 Cost-Volume- Profit Analysis.
@ 2012, Cengage Learning Cost Behavior and Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis LO 3a – Understanding Break-Even.
17-1 HANSEN & MOWEN Cost Management ACCOUNTING AND CONTROL.
CHAPTER Prepared by: Jerry Zdril, CGA Tools for Business Decision-Making Third Canadian Edition MANAGERIAL ACCOUNTING Weygandt-Kimmel-Kieso-Aly 6.
Financial and Managerial Accounting Wild, Shaw, and Chiappetta Fifth Edition Wild, Shaw, and Chiappetta Fifth Edition Copyright © 2013 by The McGraw-Hill.
Chapter 12 Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis. Chapter 122 Chapter 12: Objectives Define break-even point (BEP) and cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis and recognize.
McGraw-Hill/IrwinCopyright ©2008 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. Fundamentals of Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Chapter 3.
Managerial accounting
Fundamentals of Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
© 2017 by McGraw-Hill Education
Presentation transcript:

Fundamentals of Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Chapter 3 Copyright © 2011 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.McGraw-Hill/Irwin

Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis L.O. 1 Use cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis to analyze decisions. CVP analysis explores the relationship between revenue, cost, and volume and their effect on profits

Profit Equation The Income Statement Total revenues –Total costs =Operating profit The Income Statement written horizontally Operating profit Profit = = Total revenues– TC Total costs –TR LO

Contribution Margin This is the difference between price and variable cost. It is what is leftover to cover fixed costs and then add to operating profit. Contribution margin = Price per unit – Variable cost per unit P – V LO

CVP Summary: Break-Even Break-even volume (units) = Fixed costs Unit contribution margin Break-even volume (sales dollars) = Fixed costs Contribution margin ratio LO

CVP Summary: Target Volume Target volume (units) = Fixed costs + Target profit Unit contribution margin Target volume (sales dollars) = Fixed costs + Target profit Contribution margin ratio LO

Use of CVP to Analyze the Effect of Different Cost Structures L.O. 2 Understand the effect of cost structureon decisions. Cost structure: The proportion of fixed and variable costs to total costs. Operating leverage: The extent to which the cost structure is comprised of fixed costs

Margin of Safety The excess of projected or actual sales volume over break-even volume The excess of projected or actual sales revenue over break-even revenue Suppose U-Develop sells 8,000 prints. At a break-even volume of 6,250, its margin of safety is: Sales – Break-even = 8,000 – 6,250 = 1,750 prints LO

CVP Analysis with Spreadsheets L.O. 3 Use Microsoft Excel to perform CVP analysis. A spreadsheet program is ideally suited to performing CPV routinely. 2.In the “Set cell” edit field, enter the cell address for the target profit calculation. 3.In the “To value” edit field, enter the target profit. 4.In the “By changing cell” edit field, enter the cell address of the volume variable. 5.Click “OK” and the program will find the break-even volume. 1.Choose “Tools: Goal Seek…” from the menu bar. $0.60 $0.36 $1,500 ($300) 5,000 U-Develop Price Variable cost Fixed cost Profit Volume $0.60 $0.36 $1,500 $0.00 6,250 U-Develop Price Variable cost Fixed cost Profit Volume 3 - 9

Extensions of the CVP Model: Income Taxes L.O. 4 Incorporate taxes, multiple products, and alternative cost structures into the CVP analysis. The owners of U-Develop want to generate after-tax operating profits of $1,800. The tax rate is 25%. What is the target operating profit? Target operating profit = TOP ÷ (1 – Tax rate) TOP = $1,800 ÷ (1 – 0.25) = $2,

Extensions of the CVP Model: Multiproduct Analysis Management expects to sell 9 prints at $.60 each for every enlargement it sells at $1.00. Selling price Less: Variable cost Contribution margin $ $0.24 $ $0.44 PrintsEnlargements Total fixed costs = $1,820 LO

Extensions of the CVP Model: Multiproduct Analysis What is the contribution margin of the mix? (9 × $0.24) + (1 × $0.44) = $ $0.44 = $2.60 What is the weighted-average contribution margin of the mix? (.90 × $0.24) + (.10 × $0.44) = $0.26 What is the breakeven of the mix? LO

Extensions of the CVP Model: Multiproduct Analysis 7000 × 90%=6,300 prints 7000 × 10%= 700 enlargements Total units=7,000 $1,820 fixed costs ÷ $0.26 = 7,000 units LO

Extensions of the CVP Model: Alternative Cost Structures Given: Fixed costs of $1,500 are sufficient for monthly volumes less than or equal to 5,000 prints. For every additional 5,000 prints U-Develop must rent a machine for $480 per month. Original break-even was 6,250 units. ($0.24 x 6,250) – ($1,500 + $480) = ($480) LO

Extensions of the CVP Model: Alternative Cost Structures What is the break-even using new fixed cost containing the rental of the additional machine? Break-even units = ($1,500 + $480) ÷ $0.24 = 8,250 LO

Assumptions and Limitations of CVP Analysis L.O. 5 Understand the assumptions and limitations of CVP analysis. Although the CVP model is a very strong tool, the output is dependent upon the assumptions made by cost analysts. These assumptions include which costs are fixed and which are variable

End of Chapter 3 Copyright © 2011 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.McGraw-Hill/Irwin