Advertising media planning Main idea: how much of your target are you reaching, and how many times? Reach & Frequency.

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Presentation transcript:

advertising media planning Main idea: how much of your target are you reaching, and how many times? Reach & Frequency

gross impressions The raw numbers of media audiences, in duplicated form (the same person can be counted more than once)

The total number of different persons exposed to an ad at least once, as a percentage of the total population of the target audience Total Target 100% 80% Reach target audience reach

reach & frequency When to emphasize reach New product introduction New marketing/advertising objectives Increase brand awareness Sales promotion support Exploit competitor weaknesses

reach

The average number of times the audience reached is exposed to a specific advertisement 4.0x Frequency = frequency

reach & frequency When to emphasize frequency Lack of unique message Limited brand differentiation Significant competitive noise levels Combat competitive attack Overcome media and/or budget limitations

frequency Frequency distribution Quintiles Individual exposures Relationship of reach to frequency Reach x frequency=GRPs Inversely related

effective frequency Effective frequency numbers Standard 3+ for TV or print Could be higher (5+) for radio Frequency caps for internet Effective reach numbers (usually 3+) Identify reach goal at established effective frequency level

The percent of the target exposed to a message a specific number of times, thereby communicating the message effectively Usually Message Frequency % Target 75% 65% 55% 45% 35% Reach 55% of the target 3 or more times effective reach

effective (3+) reach

media mix When to mix media types Extend reach Flatten frequency distribution Reinforce message/creative synergy Reach different audiences

media mix Estimating media mix reach & frequency Random duplication Reach= (a + b) – (a*b)

MEDIA BUYING

some considerations in buying media Supply & demand Media buyer input Media buying experience

cost-per-thousand CPM = cost to reach 1,000 people in the target Important to evaluate the price versus the amount of audience

cost-per-thousand Print Media CPM = Cost of 1 page X 1,000 # of prospects (readers or circulation)

cost-per-thousand Broadcast Media (based on homes or audience reached by a given program or time) CPM = Cost of 1 unit of time X 1,000 # of homes or persons (audience)

Example (Cost / Audience) X 1,000=CPM ($411,250 / 60,120,600) x 1,000 = $6.84 cost-per-thousand

measuring audiences in advertising vehicles Cost-per-rating point (CPP) Important to evaluate the price versus the amount of audience represented by the ratings

cost-per-point Broadcast Media (based on homes or audience reached by a given program or time) CPP = Cost of one unit Program rating: household/demo

Example Everybody Loves Raymond Series Finale Unit Cost/TRPs=CPP $500,000/12.5 = $40,000 CPP cost-per-point

media costs TV – buy “spots” (standard :30) Television Dayparts Network TV Local Stations Syndication Cable TV

media costs Radio – buy “spots” (standard :60) Network radio Spot radio

media costs Magazines – buy pages (standard FP4C) General-interest (dual-audience) magazines Women’s service magazines Home (shelter) magazines “Twenty-something” adult magazines

media costs Newspapers – buy “column inches” (i.e., 3 cols x 10.5” = quarter page) Run of paper Supplements Custom inserts

media costs Internet – buy “impressions” Banners Rich media Other Internet advertising

media costs Internet – can also buy other ways: Cost-per-click (CPC) standard for search Cost-per-acquisition (CPA) for direct response campaigns

media costs Out-of-home media – buy “panels” for 4 weeks Poster panels Bulletins Transit advertising