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Published byBrent Holmes Modified over 8 years ago
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Chapter 8: Website Analytics
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Chapter Objectives Select the best KPIs for a website of any variety. Determine the most needed improvements for an eCommerce website based on an analysis of its conversion funnel. Describe the strengths and weaknesses of the various attribution methods.
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Last Month’s Numbers: Retail Site Visits12,483 Conversions512 Total Revenue$17,541.12 $1.41 4.1% $34.26 Conversion Rate AOV RPV
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By Channel: Same Retail Site Organic SearchPaid SearchDirectDisplay AdsReferral Social MediaEmail Visits 2,129 1,430 141 2,238 4,140 792 1,613 Conversions 72 80 13 55 68 58 166 Total Revenue $1,492.43 $5,181.94 $445.38 $2,204.44 $2,518.49 $1,377.44 $4,321.00 Organic SearchPaid SearchDirect Display AdsReferral Social MediaEmail Conversion Rate 3.4%5.6%9.2%2.5%1.6%7.3%10.3% AOV$20.73$64.77$34.26$40.08$37.04$23.75$26.03 RPV$0.70$3.62$3.16$0.99$0.61$1.74$2.68
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Last Month’s Numbers: Lead Gen Site Visits722 Leads65 New Contracts28 $550 43.1% RPV$21.33 9.0%Conversion Rate Close Rate Average Contract Value
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By Channel: Same Lead Gen Site Organic SearchPaid SearchDirect Display AdsReferral Social MediaEmail Visits 126 185 332 0 79 0 0 Leads 3 14 47 0 1 0 0 New Contracts 0 2 26 0 0 0 0 Organic Search Paid SearchDirect Display AdsReferral Social MediaEmail Conversion Rate 2.4%7.6%14.2%--1.3%-- Close Rate0.0%14.3%55.3%--0.0%-- Average Contract Value --$870$525.38--
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Last Month’s Numbers: Media Site Average Page Depth 2.56 Average Visits per User2.31 Visits36,745 Page Views94,232 Unique Visitors15,931
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Conversion Funnel Rates & Availability 2,347,892 Review Itinerary 367,495 Guest Info 103,471 Confirmation 72,498 Revenue: $23,464,220 Room Nights: 143,285 1. What is the conversion rate?72,498/2,347,892 = 3.09% 2. Calculate each micro-conversion rate. Rates & Availability 2,347,892 Review Itinerary 367,495 Guest Info 103,471 Confirmation 72,498 367,495/2,347,892 = 15.7% 103,471/367,495 = 28.1% 72,498/103,471 = 70.1%
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Conversion Funnel Rates & Availability 2,347,892 Review Itinerary 367,495 Guest Info 103,471 Confirmation 72,498 Revenue: $23,464,220 Room Nights: 143,285 3. What is the average number of nights per booking? 143,285/72,498 = 1.98 4. What is the average revenue per booking? $23,464,220/72,498 = $323.65 5. What is the average revenue per night? $23,464,220/143,285 = $163.76
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Conversion Funnel Rates & Availability 2,347,892 Review Itinerary 367,495 Guest Info 103,471 Confirmation 72,498 Revenue: $23,464,220 Room Nights: 143,285 6. If traffic increased by 10%, how much would revenue increase? How many more conversions would result? $23,464,220*1.1 = $25,810,642 72,498*.1 = 7,250 7. If you could increase the percentage of people who arrive at the Review Itinerary step to 20%, what would the conversion rate be? How would revenue be affected? Review Itinerary: 2,347,892 *.2 = 469,578 Guest Info: 469,578*.281 = 132,213 Confirmation: 132,213*.7007=92,637 Conversion rate: 92,637/2,347,892 = 3.95% 92,637*$323.65 = $29,982,152
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Conversion Funnel Rates & Availability 2,347,892 Review Itinerary 367,495 Guest Info 103,471 Confirmation 72,498 Revenue: $23,464,220 Room Nights: 143,285 8. You believe that if the website offered a 10% discount, the conversion rate would increase to 3.5%. Would this increase or decrease revenue? Would it be profitable, assuming a 50% gross profit margin on bookings (before the 10% discount)? Conversions: 2,347,892*3.5% = 82,176 Revenue per conversion: $323.65*.9 = $291.29 Revenue: $291.29*82,176 = 23,936,947.42 Gross profit (before): 72,498*($323.65-$161.83) = $11,732,110 Gross profit (after): 82,176*($291.26-$161.83) = $10,638,643
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Conversion Funnel Creation Create the conversion funnel for newegg.com – Start with Viewed Home Page – End with Confirmation Determine which intermediate steps should be included
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Alternative Funnels Viewed Home Page Viewed Category Page Viewed Sub-Category Page Viewed Product Detail Page Warranty Selection Page Viewed Shopping Cart Viewed Checkout Options Shipping Info Page Billing Page Review Page Confirmation Viewed Home Page Viewed Shopping Cart Confirmation
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Goals Source: https://support.google.com/analytics/answer/1012040
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Destination Goals Viewed Home Page Viewed Category Page Viewed Sub-Category Page Viewed Product Detail Page Warranty Selection Page Viewed Shopping Cart Viewed Checkout Options Shipping Info Page Billing Page Review Page Confirmation
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Attribution
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