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Chapter 16 Commercial Mortgage Types and Decisions McGraw-Hill/IrwinCopyright © 2010 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
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16-2 “Commercial” Loans vs Home Loans Commercial mortgages & notes not as standardized as home loans Although this was changing with growth in commercial mortgage-backed securities (CMBS) market Documents are longer & more complex Often no personal liability: Legal borrower often is a single asset corporation Actual investors are shielded from liability Credit enhancement sometimes is required, especially by commercial banks
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16-3 Commercial Mortgage Loans Usually a partially amortized “balloon” mortg age 25-30 year amortization of principle 5-10 year loan maturity Balance of loan at maturity must be refinanced or paid off with a “balloon” payment
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16-4 Attractions of Balloon Mortgage to Lender Reduces interest rate risk Reduces default risk Default risk is generally much greater for commercial mortgage loans than home loans Seldom personal liability No FHA/PMI insurance Borrowers are more “ruthless” about exercising their default options
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16-5 Commercial Mortgage “Spreads” over Treasuries Mortgage rates highly correlated with 10-Year Treasury Securities
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16-6 Restrictions on Prepayment Lock-out: Prohibition against prepayment for up to 5 years Prepayment penalties: Percentage of loan: Say, 2-4% of loan balance Yield maintenance penalty: Borrower must pay lender PV of losses due to prepayment Defeasance penalty: Borrower must replace mortgage loan with a set of U.S. Treasury securities that produce cash flows equivalent to those on the paid-off mortgage Recently has become most common form of prepayment penalty
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16-7 Other Forms of Commercial Mortgage Financing Floating (i.e., adjustable) rate mortgage Index rate most commonly is LIBOR Installment sale financing Buyer makes installment payments to seller Seller only pays capital gain taxes over time in proportion to the annual payments received
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16-8 Other Forms of Commercial Mortgage Financing - continued Joint Venture Lender likely: provides a mortgage loan to project provides equity capital receives mortgage interest plus equity cash flows Borrower likely: provides the project provides expertise & management effort
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16-9 Joint Venture - continued Often between a developer/organizor of a large project and a: pension fund life Insurance company REIT Institution provides construction financing and/or long-term mortgage, in addition to some of required equity capital Institution’s share of operating & sale cash flows are negotiated
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16-10 Other Forms of Commercial Mortgage Financing (continued) Sale-leaseback Owner-user sells property to a long-term investor such as a pension fund limited liability company Tenancy in common User leases property back from the investor(s) & occupies it under long-term net lease.
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16-11 Sale-Leaseback - continued User benefits: Lease payment is deductible for income taxes Equity capital is freed up to invest in core business of company Investor benefits: Can be relatively safe investment (depending on credit worthiness of tenant). Inflation hedged (especially if lease payments increase with inflation)
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16-12 Other Forms of Commercial Mortgage Financing - continued FHA insured loans for low & moderate income multifamily housing. Freddie Mac & Fannie Mae multifamily lending programs Many targeted to low & moderate income housing See Fannie & Freddie websites (www.fanniemae.com and www.freddiemac.com)www.fanniemae.comwww.freddiemac.com
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16-13 Other Forms of Commercial Mortgage Financing - continued Mezzanine Debt: Supplements underlying first mortgage debt Sometimes is a second mortgage loan (i.e., secured by the property) More often is a non-mortgage loan secured by a pledge of borrower’s ownership interest If borrower defaults, mezz lender takes over borrower’s ownership position…giving them more control
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16-14 Adding Mezzanine to the Capital Stack
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16-15 Average Terms on Commercial Mortgages– RealtyRates.com (Exhibit 16-4) RealtyRates.com
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16-16 Important “Underwriting” Ratios Debt coverage ratio: indicator of “cash flow cushion” from lender’s perspecti ve DCR = NOI÷DS where : NOI is first year NOI DS is annual debt service (12 monthly payments) Lender’s want DCR to be as high as possible, but usually > 1.20
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16-17 Important “Underwriting” Ratios Loan-to-value ratio: indicator of equity incentive to maintain the loan LTV = Loan÷Value The higher the initial LTV, the greater the probability of subsequent default, all else equal
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16-18 The Leveraging Question (How Much Debt?) Reasons for use of debt by investors: “Magnify” equity returns Diversify the use of one’s equity Financial risk: Risk of default on mortgage loan. Risk of negative cash flow Increases with greater leverage. Leverage also increases variability of equity returns (more on this in Chapter 19)
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16-19 Financing Income-Producing Property: Borrower Perspective
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16-20 Refinancing & Default with Commercial Mortgage Loans Refinancing involves a NPV decision Even more focused on NPV than home mortgage refinancing Bigger finance issues Fewer non-financial considerations Often must account for a prepayment penalty NPV = PV OLD – PV NEW – Refi Cost – Prepay Penalty
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16-21 Refinancing & Default with Commercial Mortgage Loans Default is the signature risk of commercial mortgages. Borrower seldom can cover the loan payment for a crippled commercial property. Borrower often is in a non-recourse position (god for the borrower, bad for the lender).
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16-22 Obtaining a Commercial Mortgage Loan The Loan Submission Package Loan application from borrower contains Financial statements Credit reports Borrower’s experience resume
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16-23 Obtaining a Commercial Mortgage Loan The Loan Submission Package, continued Property description Legal description Detailed physical description Photos including aerial shots Survey Site plan Structure drawings & specifications Market analysis Cash flow pro forma (projections) Market value appraisal
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16-24 The Lender’s Decision: Loan Underwriting “Qualitative” considerations Property type Location Tenant quality Lease terms Property management Building quality Environmental issues Borrower quality
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16-25 Loan Underwriting: Crunching the Numbers
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16-26 Gatorwood Before-Tax Cash Flow from Operations
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16-27 Loan Underwriting: Crunching the Numbers Lender’s focus is usually on projected NOI over next 12 months Debt coverage ratio: DCR = NOI÷DS For Gatorwood: DCR = $1,272,500÷$857,038 = 1.5 Maximum loan: Maximum debt service = NOI÷ Required DCR For Gatorwood: Maximum debt service = $1,272,500÷1.25 = $1,018,000
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16-28 Loan Underwriting: Determining Maximum Loan Maximum Loan - continued Assume the lender’s terms would be Term for amortization: 30 years Interest rate: 7.625 PV Pmt i i n n FV 360 7.625 $1,018,000 0 $11,878,124.05
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16-29 Loan Underwriting: Determining Maximum Loan Maximum loan continued (monthly pmt) Monthly debt service: MDS = DS÷12 = $1,018,000÷12 = $84,333.33 Assume the lender’s terms would be Term for amortization: 30 years Interest rate: 7.625 PV Pmt i i n n FV 360 7.625/12 $84,333.33 0 $11,985,600.86
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16-30 Loan Underwriting: Break-Even Ratio Break-even Ratio BER = (OE + CAPX + DS)÷PGI Indicates required occupancy level (approx.) Gatorwood example: BER = (400,000 + 37,500 + 857,038) ÷ 1,900,000 = 0.681 or 68%
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16-31 Due-diligence: review & verification of the facts and analysis supplied by borrower in loan submission package Analyze rent roll & individual existing leases Analyze history of OE and CAPX Verify other facts (check for credibility and consistency) Check for missing or undisclosed information Verify borrower’s computations and analysis. Loan Underwriting: Due-Diligence
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16-32 45-90 days after receipt of “package” Lender often offers buyer/borrower a “rate lock” option for a fee Protects borrowers from a rise in interest rates before the loan is actually closed Loan Commitment
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16-33 Construction and Development Financing Land acquisition financing Finance purchase of raw land, often on urban fringe Land development loan Finance installation of improvements to the land (sewers, utilities, etc.) Construction loan Finance vertical construction Mini-perm loan Provide financing for the development phase, plus a short-term permanent loan upon completion of project
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16-34 Construction and Development Financing Land acquisition financing VERY risky; most traditional lenders will not touch Land development loan If the land is ready for development, presumably demand for the finished product is less uncertain Construction loan Arguably, the collateral securing a construction loan is more valuable than the collateral securing land acquisition & development loans
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End of Chapter 16
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