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Driving Sales Qualified Leads on LinkedIn AJ Wilcox #StartFEST
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About AJ Wilcox 8 years of PPC and SEO experience Began heavy B2B focus 4 years ago Stumbled onto LinkedIn Ads and they won me over Saw awesome successes Quit my full-time job to start B2Linked.com Lives in Lehi with my wife and π kids Triathlete, exotic car lover, soulless ginger #StartFEST
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B2B Challenges Business-to-Business (B2B) Selling to a business rather than the end user/consumer Business users are still consumers 72% of the Fortune 1000 are B2B B2B is less sexy than B2C, but it’s where the money’s at Offline conversion events on delayed sales cycles Gives rise to Pipeline Marketing eCommerce analysis much simpler #StartFEST
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What is a Sales Qualified Lead (SQL)? All leads are not created equal Content download Newsletter signup Demo request Contact us #StartFEST
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What is a Sales Qualified Lead (SQL)? Sales funnel steps #StartFEST
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What is #PipelineMarketing? Form fill doesn’t tell the whole story CPL != $/Close Make optimization decisions based on real results #StartFEST
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Lead Scoring When sales team receives more leads than can be followed up on Leads given a score based on: Depth of engagement Type of contact Job title Position in buying cycle Etc #StartFEST
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Lead Scoring My favorite sales framework - BANT B udget A uthority N eed T iming #StartFEST
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Tracking Down the Funnel Links contain tracking parameters Google Analytics UTM parameters Web form passes those parameters to CRM Reporting allows you to pull in cost data to marry to CRM #StartFEST
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Methods for Driving SQLs Organic Outreach/Inbound Free Not scalable Keyword-based Advertising (AdWords) Intent-based CEOs type the same keywords as janitors Audience-based Advertising (LinkedIn, FB, Twitter) Persona-based #StartFEST
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Organic Outreach Message your connections Free with InMails Export your connections to expose personal emails Reach out to non-connections Paid with InMails Connection requests with customized intro Remember to tag links for attribution! #StartFEST
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Organic Inbound Make profile approachable Not a resume Highlight your USP Interaction in LI Groups Be approachable in groups Be visible Endorse others often Profile “Flair” Visit others’ profiles Remember to tag links for attribution! #StartFEST
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Keyword-based Advertising AdWords/Bing Ads Hot leads Unqualified #StartFEST
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Persona-based Advertising LinkedIn/Facebook/Twitter Display ads Fully qualified #StartFEST
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LinkedIn Advertising Up to date (self selected) Robust targeting Near-unlimited traffic Business mentality Self-service #StartFEST
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What’s Successful? SaaS software Recruiting That hard-to-reach professional Reaching influencers #StartFEST
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Isn’t LinkedIn a Resume Site? Before 2012 LinkedIn visited when members wanted to update their resume 2012 LinkedIn releases InFluencer program to allow influential business professionals to write long-form content 2013 LinkedIn acquires Pulse news service and begins to serve relevant professional content Sponsored Updates ad units rolled out 2014 Long-form publishing made available to all members In just a few short years, LinkedIn made the move from resume site to content hub Also, more ad inventory… #StartFEST
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LinkedIn AdWords Account Campaign Ads Campaign Ads Account Ads Campaign Adgroup Keyword s Ads Keyword s Ads Keyword s Ads Keyword s #StartFEST
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LinkedIn Ads 101 Go to: LinkedIn.com/Ads Average CPC between $4-$7/click CPM or CPC Bidding Auction based on audience #StartFEST
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LinkedIn Ads 101 cont’d Ad Units Text Ads – Right rail 50x50px image.04% CTR is good 25 char headline, 75 char adline #StartFEST
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LinkedIn Ads 101 cont’d Ad Units Sponsored Updates – News feed 180x110px image.4% CTR is good Character limits 150 char intro 55 char title 155 char description #StartFEST
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LinkedIn Ads 101 cont’d Targeting (profile completeness dependent) Job Title (Project Manager) Job Function (Marketing) Seniority (Manager) Company Name (Microsoft) Category/Industry (Hi-tech, consumer goods) School Name (Stanford) Skills (nunchuck, MySQL) Group (Project Management R Us) Gender (M/F/Both) Age (55+) Company Size (51-2000) Geography (San Francisco Bay Area) In any combination & Exclusions! #StartFEST
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LinkedIn Ads 101 cont’d 4 Methods of Targeting Titles Job Function + Seniority Skills + Seniority Groups (+ Seniority) #StartFEST
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CMO Groups Job Function Titles Skills #StartFEST
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The Red-Headed Stepchild? #StartFEST
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Lacking functionality Opaque Ignored by LinkedIn The Red-Headed Stepchild? #StartFEST
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Let’s say… You’re running 2 ads. A has a CTR of.61% and a CPA of $48 B has a CTR of.40% and a CPA of $41 Which ad is better? #StartFEST
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Content Marketing Funnel Blog Post/Infographic Guide / Whitepaper Ebook Webinar Low Friction High Friction Retargeting Marketing Automation #StartFEST
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Our Relationship with Ads Ads = Manipulation Content = ? #StartFEST
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Glorious Retargeting Paid Search retargeting = Building audience around keyword LinkedIn retargeting = Building persona! Deliver content tests to your ideal audience At a fraction of the price of LinkedIn advertising UTM parameter tagging allows for separate audiences #StartFEST
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Case Studies of Interesting Uses #StartFEST
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Case Study #1 Medical software targeting VCs Got news out to VCs about recent round of funding #StartFEST
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Case Study #2 Marketing software targeting publishers #StartFEST
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Case Study #3 Tag management software company ObservePoint Customers have titles across the board Wanted to reach them other than with titles Took customer email list, ran through social scraper Appended LinkedIn Skills and Groups to list Ran frequency of Skills and Groups across audience to find the most common Built our own homegrown lookalike audience #StartFEST
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Q&A! AJ@B2Linked.com @WilcoxAJ www.B2Linked.com #StartFEST
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