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Published byHomer Cobb Modified over 9 years ago
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advertising media planning Main idea: how much of your target are you reaching, and how many times? Reach & Frequency
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gross impressions The raw numbers of media audiences, in duplicated form (the same person can be counted more than once)
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The total number of different persons exposed to an ad at least once, as a percentage of the total population of the target audience Total Target 100% 80% Reach target audience reach
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reach & frequency When to emphasize reach New product introduction New marketing/advertising objectives Increase brand awareness Sales promotion support Exploit competitor weaknesses
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reach
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The average number of times the audience reached is exposed to a specific advertisement 4.0x Frequency = frequency
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reach & frequency When to emphasize frequency Lack of unique message Limited brand differentiation Significant competitive noise levels Combat competitive attack Overcome media and/or budget limitations
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frequency Frequency distribution Quintiles Individual exposures Relationship of reach to frequency Reach x frequency=GRPs Inversely related
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effective frequency Effective frequency numbers Standard 3+ for TV or print Could be higher (5+) for radio Frequency caps for internet Effective reach numbers (usually 3+) Identify reach goal at established effective frequency level
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The percent of the target exposed to a message a specific number of times, thereby communicating the message effectively Usually 3+ + + + + + Message Frequency % Target 75% 65% 55% 45% 35% Reach 55% of the target 3 or more times effective reach
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effective (3+) reach
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media mix When to mix media types Extend reach Flatten frequency distribution Reinforce message/creative synergy Reach different audiences
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media mix Estimating media mix reach & frequency Random duplication Reach= (a + b) – (a*b)
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MEDIA BUYING
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some considerations in buying media Supply & demand Media buyer input Media buying experience
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cost-per-thousand CPM = cost to reach 1,000 people in the target Important to evaluate the price versus the amount of audience
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cost-per-thousand Print Media CPM = Cost of 1 page X 1,000 # of prospects (readers or circulation)
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cost-per-thousand Broadcast Media (based on homes or audience reached by a given program or time) CPM = Cost of 1 unit of time X 1,000 # of homes or persons (audience)
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Example (Cost / Audience) X 1,000=CPM ($411,250 / 60,120,600) x 1,000 = $6.84 cost-per-thousand
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measuring audiences in advertising vehicles Cost-per-rating point (CPP) Important to evaluate the price versus the amount of audience represented by the ratings
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cost-per-point Broadcast Media (based on homes or audience reached by a given program or time) CPP = Cost of one unit Program rating: household/demo
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Example Everybody Loves Raymond Series Finale Unit Cost/TRPs=CPP $500,000/12.5 = $40,000 CPP cost-per-point
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media costs TV – buy “spots” (standard :30) Television Dayparts Network TV Local Stations Syndication Cable TV
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media costs Radio – buy “spots” (standard :60) Network radio Spot radio
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media costs Magazines – buy pages (standard FP4C) General-interest (dual-audience) magazines Women’s service magazines Home (shelter) magazines “Twenty-something” adult magazines
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media costs Newspapers – buy “column inches” (i.e., 3 cols x 10.5” = quarter page) Run of paper Supplements Custom inserts
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media costs Internet – buy “impressions” Banners Rich media Other Internet advertising
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media costs Internet – can also buy other ways: Cost-per-click (CPC) standard for search Cost-per-acquisition (CPA) for direct response campaigns
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media costs Out-of-home media – buy “panels” for 4 weeks Poster panels Bulletins Transit advertising
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